More flower garden

The rest of the flower garden is starting to look more like full blown summer. The peonies are the prettiest they have ever been. I remember my mother having the most beautiful peonies between the lilac trees on her yard, but they have been moved. I never thought I would live long enough to see my peonies this developed. Hopefully they keep going. I planted a rose bush in the middle of them this spring. I sure hope that is able to grow and produce there.

Peonies from the south
Peonies from the south
Peonies from the porch
Peonies from the porch
Peonies on Sunday afternoon after the rain.
Peonies on Sunday afternoon after the rain.
Darker pink peonies are opening.
Medium pink peonies are opening.
Roger hiding under the flowers
Roger hiding under the flowers
Wish you could smell them.
Wish you could smell them.
Water barrel refilled
Water barrel refilled

The rain on Saturday night registered as 2.1 inches in our new rain gauge. James keeps telling me that it can’t be as much as the gauge shows, but it has to be correct or they wouldn’t be able to sell them. It was just what all of the gardens needed.

Sunflowers are up
Sunflowers are up
Rhubarb and Shasta daisies
Rhubarb and Shasta daisies

This is the flower bed that we finally let be free. We used to have this boxed in, but it was always so over run with grass that it wasn’t worth trying to clean it. We finally took out the boards and the edgings and mowed it down. Now it seems to have come back better than usual. The rhubarb is spreading enough that I may convince Victoria to take one or two plants to her place.

Day lillies
Lily bed

This lily bed includes daylilies, oriental lilies, lily of the valley and a strange looking flower that seems to be a stripped iris. I will show that more closely at another time. I can see that I need to get into this bed and clean out a few things. Oh yeah there are a few stray Shasta daisies in here too.

Hosta and columbines
Hosta and columbines

This is the north side of the house and the flowers that are now in the area that used to be all pea rock. This is the third year since I started some of these plants, and they are finally starting to fill in a bit. I need to do some weeding and cleaning, but I believe this summer will be a good one for this garden.

Dianthus
Dianthus

I need to find a clever way to hide that hose without buying one of those hose reels. Maybe a large urn or something. Or an old metal bucket.

Variegated hosta
Variegated hosta
I don't know what this is????
I don’t know what this is????

The plant above is a mystery to me. If anyone recognizes it, please tell me what I have. The last time I had a mystery plant and I decided to let it grow, I ended up with a raspberry bush that is now producing and spreading in this very garden bed. Just wondering what I have now.

7 thoughts on “More flower garden

  1. I only have two peony plants and neither of them bloomed this year – have no idea why. Not sure, but I think the bottom pic is a ground cover. Very invasive. It’s taken me years to remove it from my perennial garden.

    Like

    1. Someone else asked that. It might be. I am not really sure what I have put there. I am hoping it blooms soon then I might get a better idea. Thanks for the opinion and for stopping by.

      Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

