Garden intruder???

Tonight my love of nature was tested. We have noticed a little bunny, well, nearly grown bunny in the area. Last year we heard a gun shot and learned that a bunny was eliminated in the area. We were very sad. I think that bunny lived in my mother’s lilac bush. This bunny seems to make the tour of the neighborhood. I wish it would stay on the other side of the dike so that it would be safe from irate gardeners and guns. It isn’t real safe over there either. The other side of the dike is not that far from the other side of the creek where we have noticed a coyote or two roaming freely. I am sure a bunny would make for a very tasty meal for a coyote.

Since bunny was coming for supper, at least it appeared so, Paulina decided it was time that bunny had a proper name, so we will now know little bunny as Thumper. How original. I was thinking more of Peter or Flopsy, Mopsy or Cottontail. I even thought Beatrix might be an interesting name. But the younger culture won out and it is Thumper. So, having been named, Thumper needed a photo for the family blog. Here he is.

Our bunny friend, Thumper
Our bunny friend, Thumper
He notices the camera
He notices the camera
Sneaking away
Sneaking away

I am thinking that Thumper may be the reason that some of the beans were nibbled off and had to start over. I am hoping that if there is a garden loss, it is minimal. James is hoping that he will take the brown colored lettuce. James really dislikes that garden lettuce and wouldn’t even mind if Thumper ate it all just as long as he leaves the spinach and the beets alone. We shall see. I think he would even get permission on the yellow squash leaves. Funny how some people are all for wildlife until they see it in their garden (me), but I still won’t allow anyone to shoot him when he is in my yard. Happy gardening. Brief update in pictures below.

Red cabbage in middle of the weeds
Red cabbage in middle of the weeds
Carrots pushing through the cracks
Carrots pushing through the cracks
Beets finally
Beets finally
Radishes in the middle with lettuce and spinach on the sides and weeds all over.
Radishes in the middle with lettuce and spinach on the sides and weeds all over.
Potatoes with lots of dill throughout.
Potatoes with lots of dill throughout.
Sunflowers with corn in the distance and tomatoes on the side.
Sunflowers with corn in the distance and tomatoes on the side.
Pumpkin, I think
Pumpkin, I think
4 thoughts on “Garden intruder???

  1. My friend Ruth lives in the countryside and struggles mightily to keep the rabbits from tunneling under her crops and eating everything. So I hope you just have the one Thumper, and that he/she leaves you enough! It’s a difficult balance but I always feel that the wild things need our help, to some extent. Maybe there is a crop rabbits don’t like?!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

