Flowers in the rain

Hollyhock view of the patio in the rain
Hollyhock view of the patio in the rain

The last post showed the vegetable garden after the morning deluge, so I figured it is time to show off how the flowers are doing. For starters, the wind laid down the Shasta daisies a little, but not too badly. The best thing about having all the weeds in the lily garden was that they gave some support in the wind. They are starting to open up and are fairly pretty again. I am hoping we will be able to take a bouquet to church on Sunday.

Shasta daisies and rhubarb
Shasta daisies and rhubarb
Pink lilies are opening
Pink lilies are opening
up close
One up close

The ceramic frogs and solar lights were left outside for a couple of nights when the rains hit. We usually gather everything up in case of hail, but we have been lazy and we have been lucky. Not sure what will be the issue tonight. I am thinking the rain will just be wet and not violent.

Wet frog
Wet frog
Drenched basil
Drenched basil

I have noticed in the past few rains that these long pots are not draining. I am thinking that I must have plugged something so the dirt wouldn’t leak out, but I think that perhaps I closed the drainage too well. Since nothing is really growing in it, I may just have to do a dump and start over plan as soon as I can.

Begonias
Begonias

The begonia pot is not draining either, but I may just set it out of the rain for a few days. It has flourished in the sunshine so I really hate to disturb it.

Soaked drive way
Soaked drive way

We added two loads of road gravel at the beginning of the summer to end our puddle problem. It was high and dry until this morning.

One thought on “Flowers in the rain

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

