Muddy mess

Our garden is a muddy mess, but I am afraid of even mentioning it for fear that the rains will stop. It has happened in the past that June is coolish with ample rain and everything is lush and green and all beautiful. Then we basically are hit on the head when the calendar turns to July. The sun comes out with a vengeance and burns up everything in sight. Actual predictions are for a wetter and cooler July, so I feel a bit of confidence in mentioning anything. We have really had an ample amount of rain for a few days at least. On Monday I dumped the rain gauge of 1.30 inches. On Tuesday I dumped .3 inches. On Wednesday I forgot to look what was in the gauge and no one touched it. There was rain on Tuesday night and Wednesday afternoon. There was rain and thunder and lots of wind on Wednesday night, and on Wednesday morning after James returned from his bike ride (like 7 a.m.ish) there was a major onslaught downpour. The rain gauge later this morning was around 4.5 inches.

Rain gauge
Rain gauge

I walked around the yard and took a few more pictures of what the wind had done to the gardens and such. I was just happy that we didn’t have any hail. I have really worried about that this year. The wind laid down some of the larger plants, but they will be up again as soon as the sun comes out. I should have taken some measurements. On a day like this with the humidity up there, things like corn and sunflowers and zucchini should almost double in size. I swear on hot and humid days, you can almost see the plants growing. I know that by tomorrow they will be visibly higher. The peas climb the fence by one to two squares each day. The only thing that seems to be stunted are the tomatoes. I am beginning to wonder if they will even produce this year. Victoria called today. She thinks that all the plants I gave her are dead from lack of nutrients in their soil. She might have to have it tested.

Yellow squash with lettuce in the foreground.
Yellow squash with lettuce in the foreground.
Radishes are laid low.
Radishes are laid low.
Beans in the front with corn and potatoes in the background.
Beans in the front with corn and potatoes in the background.
A sunflower up close
A sunflower up close

The crazy thing about all this rain is that the dill is out of control. It is seeding out and ready to use, but the cucumbers are not even blooming. I may pick some to freeze to use in vegetable soup later this fall.

Vine garden has weeds again.
Vine garden has weeds again.

You might notice that the thistle is off and running in this area. I am not sure which type it is so I will just say thistle. I know that birds love it, and if it matures they eat it and spread it like crazy. I counted four or five pumpkins, four cantaloupe and three gourd plants this morning. It was a good thing that we used such a large area for these plants. I would replant, but at this point we have no time for anything to mature, so we will just have to be happy with what we get. Maybe I will fertilize a bit so that the plants that are there produce better.

One last picture for this post. I didn’t want to get my shoes wet, so I put these expensive covers on. My feet were dry when I came inside.

plastic bag covered shoes
plastic bag covered shoes

It just thundered and rained enough to close the pool. No hydro-therapy for us tonight. Rats! Well, actually not rats, I don’t want to see any of them in the water puddles. Take care and stay dry.

2 thoughts on “Muddy mess

  1. We’ve had thunderstorms and very heavy downpours here in Glasgow. I expected to see the rain gauge nearly full but it just measures an inch of rain in the past four days. We don’t have many outdoor pools in Scotland at all. There are a few in seaside towns that are full of seawater. I do miss outdoor pools in the American sense. Such a major part of my childhood, even in a place like Portland, Oregon!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

