Garden work, together

James and I spent the early afternoon in the garden doing some weeding, mulching and re-planting. I think the latter is sort of a waste, but we shall see. The zinnias that I replanted last week are coming. I am hoping with this moisture and the heat, the seeds will germinate more quickly than they were able to in May when it was dry and cold.

If the zucchini produce as much as their leaves are growing, I could be making everything with zucchini in it. In fact, if it holds, this will be a year when people will need to lock their cars and houses because I will be dropping off the excess in anything that is open.

zucchini
zucchini

I took the time to hand pull some of the huge weeds that were in with the dill. Every year it is a problem of pulling the weeds around the dill, but this year we haven’t even let too much grow. Last year it over ran the carrots and the beets and the beans. This year we have been using the little tiller to keep the dill just along the fence line, and in the potatoes of course.

The cosmos are coming quite nicely and I should have left them at that, but I just have to squeeze a row of mixed flowers between them. I hope they grow. At the far end I planted more marigolds. I have put them in twice now. This time I bought seeds, so that should be better.

Cosmos with the dill to the left
Cosmos with the dill to the left

To the right of the cosmos are the five rows of tomatoes. I am a little upset with how slow they are coming this year. I think, perhaps, I need to add some real fertilizer to the garden before we plant next year. It is probably depleted of any nutrients. I did take the time to go to each plant and pull them up inside their cages. Years that I fail to do that, the branches grow outside the cage too low, and they get so heavy the plant tips over and is hard to harvest. The one below has lots of small tomatoes on, so far.

Heirloom Beefsteak tomato
Heirloom Beefsteak tomato

The corn and sunflowers have rebounded from the windstorm of a few nights ago. Today is quite hazy and humid again. The sun would be shining, but we are still smelling the “smoke from a distant fire.” Today the smell is so bad, I am thinking anyone with asthma should probably be inside or for sure not doing any heavy work or exercise outside. Paulina has been struggling just sitting in the life guard chair. I am guessing they are probably having a busy day. I see a few visitors around town here and there.

Sunflowers are popping up after the rain.
Sunflowers are popping up after the rain.

The cucumbers are beginning to spin. I tried to wind a few runners up the fence. I also planted a few more at the other end. There are three fence panels and all of the seeds that sprouted were on one end. The other two panels have one cucumber plant each. I guess as we don’t can them, it is fine if there aren’t that many.

Cucumbers
Cucumbers

You can see the cucumber fence to the right of the peppers below. I am not sure how I planted them. There is supposed to be one row each of chili peppers, jalapeño, and colored bell. I think maybe the colored bell have part of the chili row, but won’t know until the fruit is on the vine, so to speak.

Peppers
Peppers

This bed is to the right of the peppers with the onions between. James picked up the grass clippings from Aunt Glenda last night, and finished out the pepper area today. I convinced him to put down newspaper under the clippings. This is a new experiment for us. Hopefully it works out. I hand weeded the bed below. It was the one that I just sort of glanced over last time. Today it got a real working over and my back feels it now. I also added another row of beets. We shall see if they come up in time to mature.

Red cabbage, beets and carrots
Red cabbage, beets and carrots

This is about all I have for now. I may not be around until Monday. Jessica is coming home tonight and tomorrow there will be all sorts of Independence Day activities around here. About time I get to finishing up my message for Sunday. Have a happy July 4th!!

4 thoughts on “Garden work, together

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

