Second small harvest

I had no intention of going to the garden today. I went out and snapped a few pictured so I could write about it, but I was staying out of the mud. It really has been a wet first half of summer. We are two days beyond the fourth of July, and I cannot walk around in the garden because it is too wet. I was walking on the grass that is mulched between the carrots and the onions, but that is as far as I ventured. I did break down and cut the lettuce and a little spinach. Then I noticed there were a few peas on the vines. I was able to get into the peas and the zinnias later in the afternoon and pick those few peas and weed the peas and zinnias. Just wish that I had taken an after picture of both of them. You will have to imagine them without the weeds.

lettuce area
Lettuce area, mulch to the left.
Peas on the fence
Peas on the fence

All of the weeds and grass and such is gone from the outside of the fence. It should give the peas some chance to breath and grow without being strangled by those weedy vines that like to twist around everything. I even dug under the zucchini to get them freed up better. Their big leaves have been choking the weeds out and that is good.

Peas on the vine
Peas on the vine

I ate one right away and picked two, but from the looks of this picture, I may have missed some.

Zinnias unweeded
Zinnias unweeded
New zinnias coming
New zinnias coming
Volunteer tomato at the edge of the peppers.
Volunteer tomato at the edge of the peppers.

I should probably pull all of them out, but I can’t seem to get rid of these volunteer tomatoes we have all over the garden. I should probably stake them. In the past some of them have produced fairly well.

Sunflowers are taller than the corn.
Sunflowers are taller than the corn.

This small area to the south of the sunflowers has nothing planted in it. I tried to grow marigolds, but they didn’t come and the place was a mess of weeds. James tilled it up, and I suspect we will need to do it again.

Tomatoes are not really growning
Tomatoes are not really growing

An overview of the garden from the southeast corner post.

Dill in the potates
Dill in the potates

The east side is full of potatoes and dill. This is the area that we need to shorten at the end of the season because we are about a foot or two, too close to that dike. Good grief it is a garden not a shed, but whatever.

2 thoughts on “Second small harvest

  1. Your garden is beautiful. I’ve gotten some great ideas just from this one post by looking at your pictures and noting the companion planting you’ve done. This is really only my second year of gardening, so I’m still learning, but enjoying the process. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to reading more of your posts and watching your garden progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my, I am really hit and miss sometimes, though I have been gardening since I left college which is more years that I like to think of. Thanks for stopping and giving it a visit.

      Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

