Red spectrum flowers

The past few days we have been busy trying to stay ahead of the weeds in all of the gardens. I was so excited on Friday morning that as of Thursday night we were finally finished with all the weeding. What a joke. This morning (Saturday) I followed James to the vegetable garden to see how he was watering, and all I could see were weeds popping up in new areas. I guess it is a never-ending job. At least we have gotten a bit of a handle on it this year. Unlike the past few years of more weeds than produce. Last year the carrots and beets were so overrun that we couldn’t even find the carrots until we went in with the potato fork. The year before the weeds were so bad in the potatoes that the harvest was cut in half of what it should have been. Hopefully this year will be all better. At least it looks that way for now, but I wanted to tell you about the flowers not the vegetables.

On Thursday I finally bit the proverbial bullet and did a bit of transplanting in the flower department. I had noticed earlier in the week that the sage was blooming. I mean, sage is not supposed to have a pretty red flowers, or was I really confused?

Flowering sage??
Flowering sage??

After a little investigation, I found a petunia in the sage. I had not planted it there, but suspect there was a seed left over from the plants in that pot last year. I am not very good at dumping the old dirt and washing the pots and starting fresh. I am a little too cheap for those actions. And I guess, getting a perfectly lovely flower for nothing is a great bonus. So, I very gently removed the petunia and placed it into the little swan for the rest of the season. I am afraid, though, that it doesn’t look so great today because the wind has been playing havoc with everything out there. Such is July around here, hot winds and dry days.

Swan with petunia
Swan with petunia

A few more flowers in the red spectrum are below. I took these pictures earlier this week, fortunately, none of them look this nice anymore. I may have to pull them into a more sheltered area in order to save what is left of them. I suppose that is why I keep them in moveable pots. Some people talk about helicopter parents. I am a helicopter gardener. Maybe that would have been a better blog name. Enough your weekend.

Red geranium
Red geranium
Orange lily
Orange lily
Pink lilies
Pink lilies
Dark orange day lily
Dark orange day lily
2 thoughts on “Red spectrum flowers

  1. Helicopter gardener, that’s very funny! I have been known to be outside battling with the elements to tie something up, or plant something that needs planting… Lovely photos of your flowers. Petunias are such marvellous plants, they just keep going and going if you deadhead them. And wonderfully drought-resistant too! The deep red is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

