Blooming time

It has been really hot and dry the last few days and the wind has been a little more than we need. It is almost like someone told Mother Nature we need to heat up and turn the crops for harvest. Time out!! Someone please reboot and resend a better message. Most of the garden items are just starting to bloom. We need a bit more water and a little less wind and maybe turn the heat back one or two notches.

I will go along with keeping the heat up if the wind cranks back and the moisture comes in on a steady basis. We could use another inch or two of rain some evening. One of those nice gentle evening rains like we had earlier this summer. The wind and the heat together always scare me that something we don’t want might be brewing. Rain would be good, but a storm not so much.

Until we get some rain, I will have to “rise and shine” and spend the mornings in the garden filling the cans with water and leaving the hose in between the rows to give the plants a drink. This is what I saw blooming while I was out this morning. Oh yes and by the way, I know why we planted the raspberry. I picked four berries today and decided to eat them myself for a change rather than leaving them on the counter for someone else. They were so amazingly delicious, I may never share again. HA!!

Hollyhocks
Hollyhocks
Zinnia near blooming
Zinnia near blooming

The hollyhocks have had some random blooms for a few days, but today I finally noticed that they are serious about color this year. The majority of the zinnias are in this stage today. By tomorrow we should be able to pick some to bring inside. I hope to get a small bouquet for church on Sunday.

Zuchinni
Zucchini

The zucchini crop could be what I predicted earlier this summer. This patch is unreal. In looking at the garden, the whole thing in general, we have all come to the same conclusion, there is something different about the area the zucchini plants are in this year. The ground is way more fertile. So what happened? James was messing around with the compost bin. It was overfull and he took quite a bit out of the bottom and buried it in this corner of the garden. He was tired of not getting anything to fit. I think it is hilarious. We now have the proof that we are supposed to put the compost on the garden not just keep tamping it down trying to make more fit into the container. Oh to be so silly sometimes.

Here is the rest of what I found in the vegetable garden and a few things from last week’s flowers.

Beans
Beans
Peas.
Peas.

I picked a small bowl of them today. Paulina also picked some yesterday when we were in Jamestown, and I had picked on Saturday. We are not getting bushels of them at a time, but it is much better than the past couple of years. I think the last time we had mega amounts of peas was the year Victoria and Jaxon lived here and their dog, Audrey, went along the fence and ate them off the plants. She was a thing.

Tomato plant
Tomato plant

There are several tomatoes on the Heirloom beefsteak plants, but they don’t seem to be growing. I need to be more careful about maintaining an even amount of water to them each day. We have the cans around the stems of the plant and today I filled each can to the top. I will have to make the effort of getting up every morning to get that accomplished or quit complaining about no production from them.

Sunflowers
Sunflowers

I took this picture of the sunflowers on the south end and enlarged it to show you what has happened to them. I am not sure what, but somehow the leaves are snipped off the two plants on this end. It is almost like something bit or snipped them off. There is one leaf laying on the ground, but the others appear to be gone. We are pretty sure that no large animal was in the garden as nothing else is out of sorts and their are no tracks. Mystery that is for sure.

Hose in the fence
Hose in the fence

This is the side of the garden where we have grown the cucumbers in the past. This year the potatoes are here and they are starting to show the stress of the heat. I wove the hose into the wire and let it pour onto the potatoes hoping to give them enough of a drink to help them along. I left it on for quite a time while I was doing some weeding along the peas. I seems you just get all of the weeds out of the way and another batch comes in. Couldn’t we just tell them to quit already.

Well, happy gardening to you. Hope to read some posts to find out what everyone else has been up to in their garden.

4 thoughts on “Blooming time

  1. Sorry that things are a bit oven-like at the moment. Your hollyhocks are beautiful. I’ve never succeeded in growing them. Maybe someday. Hilarious that you have accidentally and scientifically proven the benefits of actually putting compost into the soil! And very funny about the dog that ate the peas it could reach! Raining a lot here. About 55 most of the day, with some sunny and warmer intervals. I helped weed the rose beds in the park! The municipal gardeners were very glad of two volunteer helpers.

    Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

