Beyond the Blooms

I don’t understand how some of the gardeners around this area are already eating cucumbers. We certainly weren’t able to get into the garden any earlier than we did, but I am guessing part of our problem is that on the days it was nice enough to plant, we were at a track meet. So far we haven’t been able to pick much besides peas and lettuce, but I am saving the harvest news for the next post. In this one, I want to share the pictures of what is on the plants that I took in the past couple of days. (If that isn’t a backwards sentence then I wasn’t ever a language arts teacher.)

Anyway, here is a short tour of the garden as it stands this week. Let’s start with the peppers. There are 20 colored bell peppers. One of the green ones is below on the left. There are 14 Jalapeño peppers as seen in the photo below on the right. There is one larger, but this is the plant with the most at this size. The bottom picture is one of the seven chili peppers. It looks like lots of salsa at our house this year.

Green pepper
Green pepper
Jalopena
Jalapeno
Chili pepper
Chili pepper

Next we will check out the tomato plants. I suspect that I have been confused about some of the plants since I put them into the seedling trays. I was so sure that my second row is heirloom beefsteak and the last row is the Independence day, early producers. I am pretty sure now that the row with all of the small tomatoes that are almost ready to pick are likely the early producers and the five on the end row are the only heirloom beefsteak in the whole garden. At least I have some Giant Beefsteak and they are blooming pretty heavily, so hopefully I will have plenty of tomatoes for soup and juice which is what I really want to can this year. But what about all those peppers you say. Who knows, I might just have to make it all.

Roma tomato
Roma tomato
Independence Day
Independence Day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only other plants with anything on them that give me hope at the time are the cucumbers and the zucchini. I actually picked a zucchini today, but haven’t done anything with it yet. We are thinking of turning it into chips tomorrow. If I do, I promise to share it, in pictures that is… Ha!!

Tiny cucumber.
Tiny cucumber.
Zuchinni
Zucchini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin
Pumpkin

So, I do have one more to share. It is of the pumpkin that I took about a week ago. I might have to go check if it has grown at all. We have been watering like crazy the past two weeks. It seems that as soon as the calendar turned over to July the rain stopped. I suppose that is how it is supposed to work. It rains in June and in July it gets hot so the crops can grow. Well, hate to mention this, but the corn and the other row crops could use a shot of rain about now. And, many of the farmers would like some rain to get that second hay crop, as well as keep the pastures in good shape. In the meantime the city gardeners just have to up the water bill. Our light bill doubled this month because we have the air conditioning on so much. I hate to see the water bill next month. Oh well, we figure that next winter we can turn the heat down and throw on another quilt. At least we will have plenty to eat. Happy Gardening to you all!!

4 thoughts on “Beyond the Blooms

  1. It looks like we both love our peppers. The bills here have been crippling for a number of years. Everyone has something to say on how our Ontario politicians made such poor decisions and left us to foot the bill. The one joy we have is our vegetable garden. Yours seems to be doing very well.

    Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

