Produce in variety

The garden is starting to trickle in to harvest time. I say trickle because although the peas are in full harvest mode the other items are just getting started. I am actually getting nervous about what the days will be like when the tomatoes start in full force. Here is what I picked on Monday evening. I took them out of the garden because of the chance of hail, and I thought at least this much will be safely in the house.

Monday's produce
Monday’s produce

James and I had just gotten all of the solar globes and solar toys and flower container pots under cover. We have done this twice in the past week which really isn’t so bad. Last year and the year before we were doing it almost every night for the whole summer. It is a bit annoying and some of the containers get heavy, but I would rather move them and have no problem than leave them out and find them all broken by hail stones. The weather service last night kept threatening damaging winds with small hail. We might have had a few hits of hail, but nothing that we could see. I only think we might because I was in the bathroom listening out the east window and I heard a few pings on the shop. It was fun watching the light show from there, but the seating is not so good, I was bending over to get a view, and my back finally said for me to go sit in a real chair. This is the view I have from that bathroom window. The roof on the east side is a bit of a slope and so the window is sort of tucked into place. See the view.

Window in the bathroom.
Window in the bathroom.

This is the window in the bathroom with a straight shot view of the garden. Actually straight isn’t a good word. From this window you see that the garden is more of a rhombus than a square, but we have slowly been correcting that over the years.

Note the overhang outside.
Note the overhang outside.

Anyway, was just trying to show off the window and what can be seen from it. I also enjoy that there is a large overhang outside of it, so when it does rain, unless it is coming sideways, there is no way tat it ever rains in when I am looking out from here.

After I was finished gawking from here, I grabbed a bag of popcorn and a glass of lemonade to watch the rest of the light show (lightning) from the south window seat in my room. One of these days, I may just get creative enough to make some pillows to sit on in this window. This summer it is so hot here that I avoid it until dark. This window is best in the winter when it heats the room. I had my back up

Southeast view of window seat
Southeast view of window seat

against the window you see, and was looking towards the west. The two-story house across the intersection from us has changed hands. James saw that they were just starting to unload their pickup when the storm moved in. He went over and helped them get a few of their items into the house then the man cinched up their tarp and they all ran to their houses. We had no idea where James was, and couldn’t figure out why he wasn’t answering us. Anyway after he got into the house he felt bad that he hadn’t offered to let the man put his pickup into the big shop. Maybe it was safer out in the rain under a tarp than in the dry shop with the possibility of birds and mice. Hopefully after Adam fixes the tin around the bottom, we will be able to clear the varmints out of there.

Sophia killed another gopher this morning, so we need to keep praising her for doing her part. It keeps them out of the garden at least. As for the rest of the produce, this afternoon Paulina fried up part of the beans that James picked this morning, and she added some of the left over boiled potatoes from last night. Oh my was that good. Like she says, this is the best time of the year to eat. Here are a few more pictures of what we have been picking lately. What have you been getting from your garden?

Some of the peas
Some of the peas
The beans
The beans
Zucchini
Zucchini

I have a few other pictures on the lucindalines site. As long as I was picking last night I took in some of the zinnias. I figured it there was the chance of having them wiped out, I was going to take some inside. Fortunately it was more rain and some wind with lots of lightning. As I watched, I began to realize how sheltered the garden is when the wind is from the west. Yeah rah! for that plan!! The shop also takes a good brunt of the wind from the north too. That is all for now, Happy Gardening!!

2 thoughts on “Produce in variety

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

