Early August heat

As I mentioned on my lucindalines site just a few minutes ago, we were away from the garden for three days at the end of July, and the wind and the heat took advantage of our absence. The cucumbers that I picked this morning showed signs of no water stress. I grabbed the hose and ran it for nearly half an hour in the cucumbers, zucchini and the marigolds.

Cucumbers in the background on the fence.
Cucumbers in the background on the fence.

The cucumber fence is filled in pretty well on the right side, but I have been trying to get the vines to fill in on the left, too. I went around the plants this morning and snipped off the very ends. They are long enough and should put their efforts on producing the fruit rather than climbing or crawling to the edge of the garden. Besides a few of them were starting to get into the onions and after that it would be the peppers, and I really don’t need them in between those cans. It is hard enough to walk in there as it is. I am thinking that I will be doing a little fertilizing of them in the morning when it is my turn to do the watering.

Peppers are growing.
Peppers are growing.

James was up early this morning and had already watered most of the garden. By later in the morning when I went out to check, each can around the tomatoes and peppers still had plenty of moisture, but the cosmos and the corn already looked dried out. I am amazed that the bell peppers are so far all green. I tried to plant from the seeds of colored peppers that I had, but I believe only a few of those came up. I  also planted some from seeds I had taken from orange and yellow and red peppers that I bought in a store, and all of them sprouted. I thought that the majority of my bell peppers were from them, but here I have all green. Perhaps they start green and change as they ripen. I will have to keep a watch out for the results. Mostly, though, I a thinking it might be a good idea to stake them just in case the wind picks up again and we lose what is here.

I picked some more peas and a few zucchini this morning. I also broke down and sprayed the cabbage. James said he picked off lots of worms while he was watering. I was going to try the recipe of garlic and pepper and dish soap, but someone, who shall not be named, has used all the garlic in her cooking antics. I will have James pick some up when he heads to the store again. In the meantime, here are a few more pictures of how things are looking around here. At least we are starting to get a few tomatoes to eat. I have to say they are better than candy, but not above chocolate, yet.

The bed of carrots, beets and cabbage with yellow zucchini in the background.
The bed of carrots, beets and cabbage with yellow zucchini in the background.
Mourning Dove on the post
Mourning Dove on the post.

Just as I was starting to walk into the garden the Dove sitting on the post flew out from behind the corn and sunflowers. I sure hope it is eating bugs while in there. Come back and eat some more. Bring your friends and eat all the bad bugs you can get your beaks on. We would love to have you. I tried to get a picture of the robin who was taking a bath in the make-shift bird bath that we set up a few weeks ago, but it was really shy. Hopefully I will catch a shot before the year is over.

Dill going to seed. It was so nice last week.
Dill going to seed. It was so nice last week.
Cosmos about to bloom
Cosmos about to bloom

I was so upset to see what had happened to the dill when we came back on Friday. Between the maturity time and the hot dry winds last week, it is drying up and going to seed. I took some off and threw it around to ensure seed in the ground for next year. The dill is invasive, but that is just fine. It is one of two plants that are allowed to seed themselves as often and where ever they want in my garden. The other is tomato plants. I rarely pull them if they come volunteer. Those are often times my best producers. Not much more to say on the garden at this time. One last picture of the zinnias. I just love how they turned out this year. I wish that I could get them and the cosmos to be this large in the flower garden area. I am thinking the main issue is the soil. I am putting soil improvement at the top of my fall list of things to do. Next year, next year, the flowers will be their best ever.

Zinnias
Zinnias
Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

