Harvest is Near

Technically harvest is in progress on the small grain crops. There is no small in the way harvest is done in this area, but the grains of the plant are small meaning wheat, oats, barley and such. Mainly in our area it is the wheat crop. At one time that was the staple, but with no till and other practices like fertilizing the farmers of both Dakotas have branched into corn that is combined not just put up for cattle feed (called silage) the way my father used to do. They also grow sunflowers mostly for the oil and soybeans and a few other things that I am not so smart about. Most of my knowledge is remembering what I learned as a child and a few news reports here and there and from farming relatives. I should really get more interested in what is going on with our own land, but perhaps that will be something I do in a year or two, or maybe…

On the way home from the trip to Medora and Dickinson and the time with family, James and Paulina and I stopped between Hazelton and Linton, North Dakota and took pictures of some of the fields that were just off U.S. Highway 83. Jessica has been asking for some pictures to hang in here office at North Dakota Farmers Union, and we have been delaying taking them for some time. Anyway, we initially took some shots around Herreid, but realized they were South Dakota shots, and we wanted her to have authentic North Dakota scenes. I want to share them with you, but I will have to say these pictures are the property of Paulina Haak and though they don’t have a watermark in them, I will trust you to be honest about not taking them to use for monetary gain. I have been trying to encourage her to go on some sites to market them, but so far she has been hesitant. Let me know if this is something she should pursue.

Corn up close
Corn up close
Full field of corn
Full field of corn
Corn field edged with hay bales
Corn field edged with hay bales
Sunflowers
Sunflowers
Sunflowers closer
Sunflowers closer

The yellow of the sunflowers really grabs me. As much as I complained about them this summer with the bugs we added to the garden, I can’t wait until ours bloom, and I did see one of the plants in the flower garden has a hint of yellow today.

Real close
Real close

The wheat shots are interesting. Paulina and I don’t like the same close-ups. I may have to show you one of each and you tell me who has picked a more interesting shot. Usually she is way ahead of me on what looks good, but I still like what I like.

Full field of wheat
Full field of wheat
I like this one.
I like this one.
She like this one
She likes this one

So that is all for now. I will be posting about our four-legged house guest on the lucindalines site later today. Enjoy and Happy Harvesting!!

2 thoughts on “Harvest is Near

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

