Cooler weather/more harvest

Today was cooler, but I have already told that story on lucindalines. I had convinced myself this was a day to stay out of the garden. My brother reminded me that all the watering I have been doing is probably what is keeping the tomatoes from ripening and might also be what is causing the leaves to turn yellow and drop off. Yikes, you can’t win. I don’t have a picture of it, but I finally gave up on the cabbage and pulled it out. Let the worms eat it now. I did several different types of powder and spray and they just kept coming back. I don’t like the cabbage enough to risk eating a worm, and as it looked there wasn’t much left for the worms to eat anyway. I also tore out all of the spinach that I didn’t take very good care of and all of the weeds that were in that area. At least it looks better.

Paulina dug some potatoes for the stews we made tonight and I pulled out a few carrots. This is what they looked like. I am afraid that I took the largest ones, so we will have to let the rest grow a little longer before we pull any more.

Fresh carrots
Fresh carrots
Potatoes and tomatoes we picked today.
Potatoes and tomatoes we picked today.
Today's peppers
Today’s peppers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was taking pictures of the sunflowers early this morning when I heard the house phone ringing. I thought Paulina was still sleeping and so I raced into the house to grab the phone, but was one ring short of getting there in time. It was just the eye Dr. place reminding us of our appointment on Tuesday, and they left a voice mail, so I shouldn’t have bothered, but who knew. Anyway, I was trying to get a before picture of the sunflowers from the top of the dike to have a comparison for when they start blooming. I noticed plenty of weeds in the potatoes, and later came back and cut them off with a tree trimmer. Pretty bad when your weeds are so big that you can’t pull them or hoe them, but you have to cut them like a tree branch. I guess next time we check the potato patch more often, or maybe not put them behind the corn and sunflowers. So, check out the height of my corn and sunflowers.

Sunflowers and corn from the angle of the dike.
Sunflowers and corn from the angle of the dike.
Roger wanted to be in the picture too.
Roger wanted to be in the picture too.

I am not sure, but that corn looks to be about 12 feet high and I don’t think that I am exaggerating. My brother said the corn in the fields at the farm looks to be pretty tall this year, too.

The vine garden in full bloom.
The vine garden in full bloom.
Baby Gourd
Baby Gourd

Later in the day, Paulina and I went through this vine garden and looked at the pumpkins. She even found a cantaloupe. I didn’t think that any of them had actually grown enough to produce anything. The fun part was when we found a few gourds on. They are quite small, but hopefully will have enough time to mature. Now we just need to get rid of the old ones from two years ago. Ha!

5 thoughts on “Cooler weather/more harvest

  1. Just amazing! I’m really enjoying following along with your gardening. We saw some corn growing in allotments nearby, but it was about 4 1/2 feet high, I think – pretty good going for here! People grow popping corn and decorative corn, apparently.

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

