Saturday’s pickings

Today I was finally able to have breakfast on the porch and afterwards took a few pictures of what has been growing in our few days away from the garden. I also went out to do some picking and this is what I found.

Tomatoes picked today
Tomatoes picked today
Picked beans
Picked beans

This is what I picked today. There are three onions and cucumbers under the tomatoes. Not many, but some. Next week there should be enough 3 and 4 inch cucumbers to make a couple of quarts of dill pickles. That should be enough to hold us over for the year since we hardly ever eat them.

Peppers
Peppers
Corn and sunflowers in the wind
Corn and sunflowers in the wind

image

I also picked the peppers. I prefer to let them grow a bit more, but I decided to grab what I could get before the wind wrecks the plants. Hopefully the peppers have better results than the sunflower in the front yard. As you can see the corn and the sunflowers in the garden are blowing all over the place. I just hope that none of them get broken before the day is over. Here is what the broken one looks like. I sent this to Paulina and she said, “Poor thing.” I feel the same way, poor plant. It was the tallest one in the row and now it will never will have the opportunity to bloom. Oh well.

The sky this morning.
The sky this morning.

This morning the sky was overcast and looked like it was about to rain. It did sprinkle a little. James and I were at the campsite house for a little bit getting it in order. We then came home to catch up on the yard and garden. This afternoon the sun has come out a little, but the wind is still crazy. The air is warmish, not as warm as it could be but the sky is very hazy because the smoke from the fires on the west coast are starting to drift into the area. It will be nice when that acrid smell and taste is out of the air again.

Sophia relaxing on the ledge while I was having breakfast.
Sophia relaxing on the ledge while I was having breakfast.

Last picture for the day is Sophia enjoying the morning with me. She has since come in the house to sleep. She must have been busy last night, or maybe it was Roger. Someone brought a mouse up to the top of the porch and it must have run away. I found it in the rain barrel this afternoon. The poor things think they have escaped only to fall down the rain spout into the barrel. Oh well, Happy Gardening!!

 

3 thoughts on “Saturday’s pickings

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

