Me Day/Sunflower update

So, on Monday I took the day and headed to Bismarck all by myself. I was after a new food processor and a few other things. The teachers and coaches in Linton had a first aid renewal thing at 11 a.m., so since I was already there, I decided to head north and make a day of it. I got a pretty good model, or so I think after using it tonight. I may have to read the directions on cleaning it because I am not sure if I should have immersed some of the parts when I washed it up tonight. I figure one time won’t kill it, but I won’t do it again if I should not. Here is what I got.

New food processor
New food processor
In use!!
In use!!

I cut up three of the yellow zucchini tonight and put it to work. It has some more intense safety features than my old model. I could have stuck my hand in that other one, and it would have kept going, not so much with this one. Also the suction cup feet are a little more intense which is nice. It also has a pretty good-sized container, but I have to use two hands to lift it because there is no gripper handle on the machine, just on the container which pops off the base pretty easily. This being my third processor and hopefully my last will just have to do. The worst thing about it is that I do not have a cupboard large enough to accommodate its height so it appears I will be leaving this on the counter. I may just have to put it in the place that the unusable bread machine occupies. So sad.

Even sadder is what I came home to find in the garden. I am guessing that you will be so sick of hearing of my poor garden that was injured in the windstorm, but I had no idea that the wind had done this much damage to the flowers. I never saw that when we were fixing up the peppers. Of course when it comes to my precious pepper plants I really don’t see much else, not even the tomatoes and certainly not the cucumbers.

broken zinnias
broken zinnias
Crushed cosmos
Crushed cosmos

This was almost more than I could handle. It would be one thing if they were just laying on the ground, but the zinnias have the roots pulled out. Some came up a little by Tuesday afternoon, but I will wait until Thursday to see how bad it might stay. My aunt said I should water, but I don’t know, it is pretty wet in there as it is. We are due for rain at the end of the week, which we really don’t want now that our brother is shingling our mother’s house, but again, we will see.

Corn stalk snapped in half.
Corn stalk snapped in half.
Pepper plants with their new mini or shall I say partial cages
Pepper plants with their new mini or shall I say partial cages?

Not sure if the corn-stalk is really something you can see very well in that picture. The pepper partial cages are really a treat to maneuver through. I ended up getting my pants caught on one of the edges this morning when I was poking around in the cucumbers, and it did not feel too great. I will have to be more careful in that area. Knowing me I will probably get my basket handle hooked and rip up a plant or tear my shorts or something. So, for some happier pictures in the front of the house the cosmos are beautiful.

Perfect cosmos
Perfect cosmos
Velvety to the touch
Velvety to the touch

I love these flowers for their color and texture and smell. I even like their fernlike leaves, and I don’t really like ferns. They are like green lace. What is not to like about a cosmos?

Oh yes, I have to show off my helpers. They came and watched as I took pictures.

Sophia
Sophia
Roger
Roger

Sophia is so skinny. Some people think we starve her and she eats more than anyone, but she is so busy hunting, she can’t gain an ounce. Then there is the fat girl, Roger.

Oh by the way, sunflower update is not so good. Something has decided the sunflower tastes good. Grrrr!!!

Chomp, chomp
Chomp, chomp
Mess on the ground
Mess on the ground
Other side
Other side
2 thoughts on “Me Day/Sunflower update

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

