The sunflower saga continues

I am about running out of titles for these posts, good grief!! I promise not to complain through this entire post today. I realize that this has been more of a downer to read than I have been intending. The sunflowers are really not a vital part of the garden, and so when one or two of them breaks it should not be the end of the world. The corn either for that matter. Neither were planted with the intention of eating them. The sunflowers, maybe one or two, but the chances of them turning into bird food are far greater than people food. The corn is purely decorative, so why am I having such a fit? Pride, plain and simple and if it is for bragging rights, then good grief let them go. The tomatoes and the peppers and the other plants are way more important. So now that I have chewed myself out for the complaining, here is the latest set of pictures of the darling sunflowers. You give up, right?

In the vegetable garden beside the corn.
In the vegetable garden beside the corn.

I am excited about how many of the sunflowers are blooming. The damage is what it is, and the whole garden is a little dry. We were supposed to have some rain tonight, but so far nothing has hit. I will water everything except the tomatoes in the morning if there is nothing overnight. The sunflower to the far right is the one I zoomed in on that you see below. It looks like a cap from this angle.

Close up of the largest one, oh so pretty!!
Close up of the largest one, oh so pretty!!
Sunflowers in the flower garden.
Sunflowers in the flower garden.

This picture to the right is of the sunflowers in the flower garden up front. The flower hanging its head way off to the right is the one that I have been showing off in the past posts. Here you see the three others that are left in this line up starting to open up. The short one is about the height that I expected them all to be. At that height, I would be able to put up a fence and brace them better. There is nothing that could be done to help the really tall ones in another bad storm. Still not sure on what to plant next year, maybe, maybe not.???

Cucumbers picked today, note the damaged one.
Cucumbers picked today, note the damaged one.
Fence issues
Fence issues

The cucumbers in these pictures tell the story of why not to hang them on a fence, or maybe that you have to be more intentional in training them when you do hang them on a fence. A few of the crazy cucumbers have decided to grow from one side of the fence to the other, and you can see what happens when they get too big for the little opening. I am hoping that next year, if we plant any cucumbers, we will put the fence up in an arch type of plan so that we can stand under it like my sister-in-law has hers. If it isn’t too high, I sure would be interested in something like that. Of course if it is too low, it could end up being a crawl through tunnel. Not!!

IMG_5763These were not a good sight to find today. Fortunately these were the only ones. A few of the tomatoes are coming up with the cracks from the overwatering. This happened when we had all that rain last week. I am for sure not putting any more water on that part of the garden. I want those fruits to ripen so I can get them into the pot and in the jars. James noted today that we have never been canning this early in the year before. It is always in October when the weather is super cold and we are running around picking and hauling. Hopefully we can get lots of them into the jars before then.

Picked today!
Picked today!
Pickled today!
Pickled today!

The left shows what I picked this morning. The large pail is mostly cucumbers with one zucchini on the bottom. There are two pails of tomatoes, but one is hidden by the beet leaves. I have the small chili peppers in the dehydrator. That crop is going to be good this year. We had the carrots in a stew tonight, and the beets made three pints pickled. I also pickled four pints of the beans from the other day, and even used a dehydrated pepper in each jar. These will be great for pot lucks later this year. There are a few in church who really like them. I usually bring a couple of extra jars so they can take them home, too. I have several more pictures of some flowers, but I will save those for tomorrow. Also I am working on a quilt project from Wednesday at the Empty Nesters Hands on Bible Time event, but that will have to be another day, or another site. I will leave you with one last picture, a very tired cat!!

Tired Sophia
Tired Sophia

 

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

