Saturday in the garden

Potato crop
Potato crop, Yukon Gold is the variety.

Today was actually James’ day to dig in the garden, literally. He decided that before his Saturdays are taken with football jamborees or visits to daughters (prepare yourselves) or even the wedding we have to attend in October, he would dig the potatoes. It might be early to do such digging, but the plants are drying up so badly that we can’t even locate them anymore, so better now than when the frost threatens and we have other things to pick. Here is just 1/4 of what he found. Each sidewalk section held one pail of what he dug. He ended up with four pails today. They are about 3 gallons each. We have been digging and eating these most of the summer, so this is not the entire harvest, but enough for us. It really isn’t good to have so much that you have to throw some away, of course there is always using them for the seed potatoes next spring. These are bigger than we had last year, so holding them for seed was not that bad an idea.

View of garden from the east.
View of garden from the east.
Garden sunflowers
Garden sunflowers

The view on the left is today. You can see James in the background sorting out those potatoes. The view on the right is from this past Sunday, Aug. 23. From it you can see changes. What hit me most was the weeds are mostly missing on the fence. James pulled them out today so they would stop seeding out and planting themselves for next year. What is left is the dried up dill, that needs to replant itself, though I have taken some seeds from them so I can scatter them around in the garden next year at a later time. It seems that every year that herb grows too early and is finished long before we need it. We will be losing part of this garden next year because of Corps of Engineer rules regarding the dike which I am standing on to take this picture. I swear if they allow the city to put a walking path on that dike, I will build a fence 20 feet high so we don’t get gawkers. We have plenty of places to walk in this town without using the dike. Maybe they will spend the money then realize the mosquitos in this area are too bad, would serve them right. Enough, I promise not to complain anymore about anything. Here is the rest of what James picked or we need to pick, soon.

Wagon load of zucchini and one cucumber.
Wagon load of zucchini and one cucumber.
Tomatoes to pick.
Tomatoes to pick.

I told James to pick all of the zucchini even the small ones, this is what he found. He claims there are no small ones. Ha!! I will go out later tonight and grab the ones that are the size of that cucumber because I know those will get taken in church tomorrow, and then we will not have to pick any for about a week, I hope. The picture on the left shows lots of orange tomatoes. We have stopped watering them and tonight or tomorrow afternoon more likely, we will get in there and take out everything with any color. I will do up some soup and juice on Monday, at least that is the current plan. I noticed the basil is just about right for picking to add to that soup, oh yum can’t wait for a really cool day to eat some of that.

????
????

The basil below was just starting to seed out. I pinched all of the seeds

Basil
Basil

and hope to see some bigger leaves in a day or two so that I can add them to the soup. Now to find the way I did it last year. I often change this or that on the recipes and don’t always jot things down. I have to get better at that. As for the picture to the right, I pulled this plant out of the other pot of basil. I am not sure if it is a herb or weed. It is a weed in terms of the basil pot, but something keeps saying tarragon to me, but when I looked that up it didn’t seem to match. If anyone knows something speak up, please!! Well really need to get to some church work, so will leave it at that for now. I have some flower pictures to share, but will save that for another post. Happy gardening to you all!!

5 thoughts on “Saturday in the garden

  1. We dug out some of our potatoes the other day as well. More than we got last year and much bigger. Rotating the crop made a huge difference. I still have my box and the other half of the garden, but 8 pounds for a first haul was a good start for us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha Ha! Thanks Christine, and I would let you see. Some of the busy bodies around here not so much. When we were working on our house in 2000, if we had charged $1.00 for every car that drove past in idle gear to ogle the place, we would have paid off the mortgage already, and had we charged those who walked through the construction site after the carpenters went home, well that is another story. Have a good day!!

      Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

