Weekend garden pictures and such

I showed you what we picked on Saturday and how things looked at that time. I have taken more pictures, though I really should be slowing down on the picture thing, that is how I get my other blog out of control and out of room. I can’t help it. I just want to share.

Three in flower garden on Saturday
Three in flower garden on Saturday
Same three on Monday morning
Same three on Monday morning

This is how those crazy sunflowers are doing. I took pictures on Saturday, but didn’t add them to the post. This morning, I took a few more because I was so astounded by the difference in them. I also noticed that the broken one that we braced up and then thought we should have just cut it off

Broken plant is opening
Broken plant is opening
Three farther north in the flower garden
Three farther north in the flower garden

is now starting to bloom. I really am surprised that this is opening, but I won’t complain. I also had over looked the other sunflowers off to the corner in the flower garden.

Back in the vegetable garden the sunflowers and the corn are blowing in the wind again today, though it is breezy it hasn’t been as bad as it was the day everything was knocked over. I think Tuesday might be a day to prune back the dead zinnias with hope that there will be more production during September. Here is what the vegetable garden is still looking like in regards to the flowers.

Large sunflowers in the back of the garden.
Large sunflowers in the back of the garden.
Shortest sunflower.
Shortest sunflower.

This little sunflower is sure odd. It looks like it is wrapped around the stalk of the one beside it. I just know that these are sure different plants compared to the other things you grow in the garden. James’ brother said that the variety you buy for in the garden are different from what the farmers plant. He said theirs never get to the heights that we have here. Garden varieties are different from farm varieties. Pretty they are, but not for my vegetable garden in the future that is for sure!!

IMG_5780 IMG_5784This red zinnia was broken off by the wind. One of many.

 

The marigold, on the right have yet to bloom.

 

Enough for now, Happy Gardening!!

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

