Post #50 More of the garden

Easter lilies
Easter lilies

I planted the Easter lilies in the lily garden shortly after we brought them home and their blooms faded. I have done this for years, but never, ever had them rebloom in the garden. Here is how they looked this morning. This afternoon, I noticed both were open. I am excited about this event.

Morning Glories
Morning Glories

I may have shown these before, can’t really remember. This bed was supposed to be tulips and irises. I let a few seeds of morning glories take hold and can’t believe what they have become. We have a row of solar lights in here, and can barely see them at night. I am thinking that next year, I will put up a trellis of some sort for them to grow on. Watch nothing will bloom then.

Face plant!!
Face plant!!
Staked up!
Staked up!

So this is what happened in the wind yesterday. It was one of the sunflowers from the side that I had forgotten about for so long. The picture on the right is what the stem looked like after I staked it up.

Sunflowers in the border
Sunflowers in the border

I think I am learning that in the future if I want to grow these things, I should stake them as soon as they get a little height.  The group on the south end of the concrete is here on the left. The flowers are just too heavy for their own good, and really droop when they begin to fill in. This year has really shown me how when one thing is lacking the other fills in, or maybe it is the other way depends on if you are looking at a 1/2 cup as half empty or half full. The hollyhocks are not much this year, and the sunflowers are fantastic. The apples are nothing this year, and there are pumpkins galore. It is better this way than all of both or none of either. Well a few more pictures and I will finally be finished with this post. Good grief I started it this morning and have not been able to finish because of all the interruptions, some of my own doing and some from phone calls and text messages and such. So much for writing my sermon today.

Garden view from the north.
Garden view from the north.
Garden view from the south.
Garden view from the south.

The winds were not just damaging, but they have been very drying. The garden is beginning to look very much like fall is on us. I see how Sarah the Gardner is able

Tallest sunflowr
Tallest sunflower

to call spring in New Zeeland. It is really getting ready for winter here.

This tallest sunflower off to the right is about 10 feet tall. I went into the garden and stood beside it. I was shorter, at 5 feet 6 inches than the first full good leaf on it. When I went back outside the fence and looked it over, that is about half of its height. So, roughly it is 10 feet tall. Oh, my!

If you look closely at this same picture, you have an idea where I should have been today rather than answering phones and watching soaps and sitting in front of a computer. I should have been out picking tomatoes. The only problem with that plan is that I have no place to put them if I do pick any. I did up 8 quarts and a bit more of tomato soup yesterday, and in so doing I used up all the super ripe ones. Those on the plants are not quite ready for the pot, but should be taken in for safety. Maybe tomorrow when James and Paulina are home. I am guessing we will be picking tomatoes until we are sick of looking at them. At least it is warm enough that we don’t have a scare of frost, which is always what gets them all picked and into the house each year. Last year it was so bad that we ended up pickling some green tomatoes. They tasted good, but no one really wants to eat them because of how they look. Sad!!

Smiling sunflower
Smiling sunflower
Pink cosmos
Pink cosmos
More happy sunflower
More happy sunflower
more cosmos
more cosmos

Wow, what a trip this is trying to align pictures into

Morning glory
Morning glory
Roger checking out the day
Roger checking out the day

something that works out  a bit with getting everything to fit. I have been playing with picture sizes and positioning in this blog. In the past I just put everything on medium and center and just let it work out except on a rare occasion when I used large or full or did it from the iPad app which does everything in large size, or maybe it is just that I can’t figure it out. Anyway, enough for today. Happy gardening!!

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Post #50 More of the garden

  1. I will have to make a note to stake any sunflowers that I grow in the future. At this point I’m not sure I have a place for them, but knowing how to do it right is always good. So how many tomato plants did you plant? It’s great that you still have so many ripe ones. I have 15 and they gave me quite a few tomatoes but have slowed to near nothing now. Lots of green ones but they just don’t seem to want to turn. I might try making some green enchilada sauce with them. I’ve never eaten it, let alone canned it, but I hate to throw out a single tomato, even the green tomatoes.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. WOW! I wish I had that many…coming from the “Burned Out Canner.” Oh well, the grass is always greener. Had I planted that many, I’d probably be even more overwhelmed. Good luck to you and all your picking.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic happenings in your garden. It’s great that the lilies have had another blooming. The conditions must have been right for them this year. I like what you say about how some things do better than others, but there’s always some strong points!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

