Compare: May to September

I can hardly believe how different the garden looks since I started this blog. My lucindalines site just had its four-year anniversary and I still can’t decide if I am doing the upgrade. I figured at the rate I work on a blog, I will have it maxed out before I get the credit card bill for the upgrade. At any rate, this blog began sometime in the early spring when the garden went in. Here are a couple of examples of the then and now on some of the garden sites. I haven’t taken any new pictures today, but I am putting the pictures from May and those from last week beside each other. Amazing our growing season this year. I looked at old gardening pictures from my other site and nothing like how things grew this year. I heard that is true on the farms in our area also this year. It must have been the rain in June that really did the trick. Enough!

Vine garden has weeds again.
Vine garden has weeds again.
The vine garden in full bloom.
The vine garden in full bloom.

This is where the pumpkins and gourds and cantaloupe are planted. Today Paulina and I went to check things out. We counted 20+ pumpkins and two or three cantaloupe. We never get many of them, it is just a joke to plant them. The gourds looked like about five or six at full size and lots of little ones. It will be interesting to see what we end up getting.

 

zinnias
zinnias
The north edge.
The north edge.

The area beyond the little post is where the zinnias were planted. It is unreal the difference. I can’t believe these four little hills of zucchini in the front.

 

The vegetable garden
The vegetable garden

IMG_5440They matured into the picture on the left and later ended up being this monster patch you see on the right. I am finding as I look back that I have been so obsessed with the sunflowers nothing else has been in my radar. Anyway, here is what things have been maturing into. In these pictures above, you can also see the growth of the corn and the sunflowers in the background. I will leave you with the monsters. We are excited that the colored corn is starting to mature. I am thinking of finding some varnish to cover up some of the corn to seal it for pretty, but then that isn’t what it is about. I may just leave it, though it will attract squirrels and mice to the decorations. The cats will love that plan.

In the vegetable garden beside the corn.
In the vegetable garden beside the corn.
Roger checking out the day
Roger will be looking for the mice.
4 thoughts on “Compare: May to September

  1. Wow! It doesn’t matter how many times I see your gardens, they always make me think that it is what we aspire to. I wish I lived close enough to raid your pumpkin garden. I have so many recipes I want to try. Maybe we will break down and buy some this year. You sure are an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you it is fun. My mother’s garden was always huge, but I don’t remember it being so much work. My grandmother had a system that was amazing. I think I have spent my life trying to compare to them. Oh well. This year seems it all grew so much better than it has in the past. Thanks for the comment, you always make me feel good.

      Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

