More canning on Monday and found the garden thief

So there was no getting around it, today was another day to get up and get at the tomatoes. The nice part is that there is an end in sight. If my memory is correct, and it hasn’t been so good lately, the past two years I had a 4×8 foot table full of tomatoes. In fact last year there were so many that I ended up pickling some as green tomatoes. Won’t happen this year, though we will still have plenty.

Fresh basil in the soup.
Fresh basil in the soup.
Tomato-Basil Soup
Tomato-Basil Soup

I did up some soup today, but after it was in the jars and out of the processor, I realized that I forgot to put the stick of butter into the pot as it was cooking. I was so busy adding the fresh basil and checking the flavor with that and getting the thickening just right, which I sort of lumped up anyway, and now there is no butter or canola or whatever could go in to make it super smooth. It might be good to pass the torch of canning on down to another generation. I ended up with 7 quarts of soup and 3 quarts of juice, no pepper in it this time.

I knew that I didn’t have as many tomatoes today as Friday or Saturday, but I will be limited to what is ripe for the rest of the canning season. I don’t think that I will get to do anymore canning until Thursday this week as I have other obligations, but that is ok, none are ready at this time.

I did make a very interesting discovery today, other than seeing some youngsters with their little guns on the dike shooting at birds. Perhaps if they were shooting at the garden thieves, I wouldn’t be yelling at them each time I see them. I realized that as I was telling them to quit shooting that I have turned into the old woman who scares children. I believe the Olson woman who sold my father the house we lived in was that sort of person. I love it, the tradition lives on.

Sunflower pieces after the squirrel was in it.
Sunflower pieces after the squirrel was in it.
Sunflower talking to the cosmos, or so it seems.
Sunflower talking to the cosmos, or so it seems.

So, as for the thief. It is a stinking squirrel. I showed the stripped corn yesterday, and have mentioned how something is in my sunflowers. I thought that was birds. Nope it is a squirrel. I told Roger to get out and guard the sunflowers, but she wasn’t having it. She will gladly stand guard when she is outside with me, but not on her own. Lazy thing. Tigee was the best at chasing squirrels out of the yard. My mother never had problems with them when Tigee was on the prowl. She is, sadly, a bit too arthritic to be doing that anymore.

Roger relaxing in the sun.
Roger relaxing in the sun.
Roger on guard duty this morning when I had breakfast outside.
Roger on guard duty this morning when I had breakfast outside.

Anyway a few minutes after I told Roger to go out and deal with the squirrel and I was finally finished with all of the canning and cleaning up, Sophia and I headed outside. The picture on the left shows you where we found Roger. Sunbathing on the porch. What a lazy thing. It might have been good because that was the same time that I noticed the youngsters with their guns. I think it is just BB guns, but I am always afraid that target shooting will turn into cat shooting, and we really don’t need any sort of shooting this close to town let alone in town. I realize that on occasion certain city officials have to eliminate skunks or raccoons because of the danger of rabies, but … well I will just stop at that. It was a good day of canning and that is all I really need to say, except that the sunflowers will not be part of my garden again because they attract too many varmints. And seriously that is what I think of squirrels. They are nothing more that rats with fluffy tails. Not cute, just annoying!! Happy canning to you!!

3 thoughts on “More canning on Monday and found the garden thief

  1. Your soup looks so good! The fresh basil must make taste even better.
    “I realized that as I was telling them to quit shooting that I have turned into the old woman who scares children. I believe the Olson woman who sold my father the house we lived in was that sort of person. I love it, the tradition lives on.” <—-Still laughing at that. 😉
    I agree, squirrels are nasty little beings.

    Liked by 2 people

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

