Fall in the garden

Yesterday was the first official day of fall, perhaps that was what caused my melancholy. I just could not get out of my downer attitude. I went to the church office and did the bulletin and all the things I needed to do, but I didn’t stop at the Health Care Center to do any visits. I just couldn’t make myself do it. At home I walked around, sat outside and took these pictures, but couldn’t make myself do anything constructive. I have a ton of things to get done, but I just can’t make myself do them. I suppose if there were enough tomatoes in the boxes to make a batch of anything I would be doing it, but there aren’t enough there to fill the pots with blanching water. I will likely share them with someone who would like the taste of a good garden grown tomato. For now, here are some flower pictures to share the sights of fall.

IMG_5901 IMG_5902The marigold finally bloomed. Hopefully there will be a few more before the next frost hits. The cosmos are so beautiful, but I want them in the flower garden in the future.

IMG_5905 IMG_5906

A few of the survivors that are in the border of the flower garden.

At the bottom is the pumpkin patch…….

The pumpkins are turning orange with very few green ones left. I am just hoping that we can hang on to them until the end of October so we can have some Jack-o-lanterns.

Pumpkin Patch
Pumpkin Patch

Not much else to share today. Hopefully I can cook or write my way out of this bummer of a feeling that I have had the past week. I suppose just sitting around watching hours on end of silly soaps is not helping. I also have this stress that we need to attend a church function in Pierre on Saturday, and I am not really up for that, but it is what it is. Perhaps if I sit down and write-up my message for Sunday tonight, I will feel some of the pressure dissipate. I sort of kind of know how it is going to flow so no time like the present. The verse that keeps hitting me is when Jesus said, “Whoever is not against us is for us.” Mark 9:40. Ah this brings me to the saying of “The enemy of my enemy is my friend.” Sort of a backwards way to say that but the theme this week is about community. And I have an idea where to go from here. Promise to post it on the “lines” site after Sunday. Happy Gardening!!

7 thoughts on “Fall in the garden

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

