Wednesday with grandchildren

On Tuesday night after I was finished in the church office, I came home, picked what I could in the garden, checked in with James on the possibility of more frost, after finding that we were safe for the night, I headed for Linton to pick him up.

Pumpkins and gourds were hit by frost.
Pumpkins and gourds were hit by frost.

Before I left for Linton, I loaded up the van with some produce to take along. I took 3 pumpkins for Jaxon and Ana. I also threw in some zucchini and cucumbers and carrots and potatoes and such. I was running around like a loony bird. We should have packed it up the night before, but we didn’t want it in the van all day while I was in Eureka at the office. Perhaps the plan should have been to have it in the garage ready to load. Next time we will know how to do that. You would think that at our age, we already know these things. Yikes!!

Following a fill of gas, we took off for Dickinson and an overnight with Vic, Nate and the kids. It was really fun as Jaxon would say. He was still away when we finally got that and after a bit of time talking about his school and a few hugs, we all settled in to sleep. In the morning, James was so crazy excited to walk to the bus stop with Jaxon that he woke Victoria way before she needed to get up. I heard feet running in the hall above me and pulled on some pants and put a jacket over my pajamas and followed James and Jaxon down the street to the bus stop. It was really fun to watch the students assemble. He goes to a school that has been hit by the cultural diversity of the oil boom in the Bakken. Grandpa and I say hurrah. Jaxon and Ana will not realize there is such a thing as not wanting to go to school with people who don’t look like you.

Jaxon getting on the bus.
Jaxon getting on the bus.
Jaxon and Grandpa waiting on the corner.
Jaxon and Grandpa waiting on the corner.

Of course James had to be Mr. Friendly Extrovert with each young person who came to wait for the bus. I told Victoria they probably all told their friends, parents or teachers that there was a strange old man at the bus stop trying to be friendly with all of them, and someone was likely looking at the registered sex-offenders living in the area. Victoria and I are both Introverts so we would just talk to Jaxon and keep our heads down. Ha!! Jaxon is more like Grandpa and is always taking every opportunity to socialize. He really likes school and that is so good. He likes the learning as well as the social part of it. I think the structure is good for him, but then He has always responded well to the structure that he gets at home, too. Later in the day, James and I were able to go to his school and pick him up. The main reason that we took a day in middle of the week was to see his final kindergarten cross-country meet. He was a hoot, and I can see him developing in that sport for a while at least. He may grow into a big football player like his father, but that will be his choice according to his parents.

In the meantime of waiting for school to be over, James and I were at home with Victoria and Ana and the day-care baby. Victoria started a day care last summer, but with her being nearly ready to have the third child, she is down to one other baby. What a doll that one is, just a fragile little thing, but so determined. I took a few pictures of Ana, the brute. She is something else. She did not like me one bit when I tried to talk to her while she was in the high chair. James, though, gets her attention pretty easily. He is so in your face with her and she loves it. By the time we left, she was happy to get the hug and kiss on the cheek and was ok about waving good-bye. Oh, maybe that was the friendly part of her, we were leaving. HA!!

Ana when I changed her diaper.
Ana when I changed her diaper.

Here is where she was just silly. I wasn’t sure how I would get her distracted when I had to change the diaper. She just giggled at this.

Ana in the sandbox
Ana in the sandbox

After the race, we went back to the house to wait for the mother of the little girl to pick her up and Ana played in the sandbox. She just loves to dig in the dirt and she was a grub worm when we finally went in the house. She was really good about getting cleaned up from grandma. Jaxon wouldn’t leave my side during supper and he had to show me a Minnon/Pirate book that was a “find me.” I read what we were looking for and he would find it and count them. As he says, “It was really fun!” So that was our day in Dickinson with the grandchildren. Paulina gets to see them tonight since they are in Jamestown. Hope they have lots of fun together. Happy Family Time to you all!!

2 thoughts on “Wednesday with grandchildren

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

