Hunting with a camera part 2

I tried to get the entire story in this morning, but we needed to leave to make the football game in Bismarck. Of course they lost. The team has two losses this whole year, both to the same team and neither was close. Oh well, it was a winning season just a little short of making the finals.

So back to the hunting with a camera thing. As I was walking along the dike trying to catch a shot of the Blue Jay, I noticed all of the other little black birds in the area. There were swarms of them. They were every where. How that one crazy loud little Jay kept them out of the sunflowers in the garden is beyond me. And though they were making noise, they were nothing compared to that one Jay. What a squawker. So here are a few pictures that I captured of the swarm of birds. They don’t do justice to the enormous numbers that were flying around. It really was like walking through the Alfred Hitchcock version of The Birds. Of course as an English literature teacher, I much favor the original short story it was based on. That was written by Daphne du Maurier and was so much scarier. Any way, here are the pictures, lame though they are.

In the sky swarming
In the sky swarming
On the ground.
On the ground.

The field on the other side of the creek has been harvested and there must be some residue on the ground that they are eating up. I guess in a way they are helpful for picking up those left over seeds so that they don’t come up in another crop next year, though mostly these birds are seen as a nuisance and certainly not loved by sunflower growers.

The big surprise for me came when I was turning around and some movement caught my eye. I have seen these little fellows from my bedroom window all summer, but barely can get to the binoculars to have a good look at them. Paulina got some shots a few weeks ago when they still had spots. I couldn’t believe how long they just stood and looked at me. I felt like I was holding my breath so they wouldn’t run away. I sure hope they survive the hunting season.

Oh my she sees us!
Oh my she sees us!
Running away
Running away
Over the fence
Over the fence

It is so fun to see how they blend right into the habitat around them. No wonder they stand perfectly still thinking that no one can see them. I actually had noticed the mother deer earlier and that is how I found the twins. They are on the run to meet up with her.

All three heading to some place safer.
All three heading to some place safer.

 

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

