Nov. 4, Thankfulness: Beets are in

Beets straight from the garden.
Beets straight from the garden.

Hurrah, Hurrah, the beets are in … the beets are in. They are in the cellar and in the freezer. Yesterday was another beautiful day, but I knew it won’t last much longer so I headed outside after lunch, pulled the beets, washed them up and took them inside. I did a count and with large and small, all totaled, there were 49 beets to wash, peel, and process. After at least an hour of peeling and chopping, and boiling they were ready for the jars. Of course most people boil, peel then chop. I have always been a bit backward. I am just a nerdy about getting the taste of dirt into my beets, so I do it my way. The real thing is that I do not want to use the beet juice that

All washed and shining
All washed and shining

might have some dirt in it. Yuck!! The recipe I use calls for a 2:1:1 ratio. It is 2 beet juice, 1 vinegar and 1 sugar. For the seven quarts I did yesterday, I did 2.5 times the recipe which equaled 5 cups of beet juice, 2 1/2 cups of vinegar and 2 1/12 cups of sugar. It worked out perfectly, which really blew me away. I can never get anything to come out that well. I didn’t take any pictures of the finished jars. I just have pictures of beets, like this silly looking one below.

The double beet, should have made a snow man of him.
The double beet, should have made a snow man of him.

I am thinking that maybe it was two beets that grew together. I am not real good at thinning things like carrots and beets. I am just too lazy and so what I get is what I get. I hate to see what those carrots will look like when I ever get to them. I was going to pull them tomorrow, but I have some other things to take care of before I can do that. Here are a couple of other pictures of the largest beets and the peeled beets.

The huge ones
The huge ones

I lined these two big beets up beside the knives so that there would be an idea of the actual size. I am so glad that they are peeled for the year. Now what I have left on my list of to do’s is even

Peeled and ready to boil
Peeled and ready to boil

harder on my hands and that is the pumpkins and zucchini, and it seems the longer they sit after being picked the harder they are to peel, so I either get to them soon or my hands will be sore. Of course some people tell me you should bake the pumpkins in the oven then sort out the peelings and the seeds. I might try that with a small one to see if it works, but I cannot imagine what a mess that could turn into. Or, maybe I will learn something new. For now, I will just be thankful that the beets have moved from the ground to the shelves where they can be enjoyed by one and all. The first taste of the pickled beets will be at Mission Fest later this month. I just love being able to grab a couple of jars of something and adding them to the buffet table.

5 thoughts on “Nov. 4, Thankfulness: Beets are in

  1. Silly question, I know…:) Just curious because we in India use beet in a curries and veggies and have never come across a recipe that has beet juice on it. What do you do with these jars of beet juice + vinegar + sugar ?

    Like

    1. They are a sweet/sour tasting vegetable. Pickled not exactly like pickled cucumbers or beans, but still good. Thanks for asking because I forgot to mention that they should be processed in a hot water bath for 20 minutes. No need to pressure cook, just boil the jars up to the neck. Try some you may find a new way to enjoy the beet root.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh my I just reread my post, boy it needs a picture. After you boil the cut up beets pack them into jars. For this time I used quarts. Usually I use pints, but I wanted to get more finished in less time. I promise to take a picture and post it soon. Thanks so much for stopping by.

          Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

