Nov. 7, Thankfulness: Carrots are dug

Today after we came home from the funeral in Eureka (info on that on lucindalines) we dug out the carrots.

Pail of carrots
Pail of carrots

After James dug them and tossed them into the grass, Paulina wiped off the mud and put them into the wagon. I didn’t want any of the dirt in the house so we took them to the concrete and cleaned them up a bit more, cut off the green and laid them out to be hosed down. I am not sure how many pounds we harvested, but there is a three gallon pail brimming with them in the kitchen waiting to run through the sink. They need to be washed up a bit more, dried  and stored in “green” bags in the crisper. It will be so nice to be able to reach into the fridge and grab carrots for roasts and stews and soups. I am thinking that I might even feel like cooking again this week. Ha!! I say that because I know it is the week of the regional VB tournament and we will only be home on Wednesday. Hmm, it is also Veterans’ Day this Wednesday, so we really will be home that day.

Flower beds around the edge all clean and ready for next year.
Flower beds around the edge all clean and ready for next year.

After we had the carrots drying in the sun, we started on the flower beds around the concrete. We cleaned up all of the pots and picked up everything and moved it inside. We even downsized a few pots and put them away. I also cleaned out the herbs and brought them in to dry. Just after I put away the dehydrator.

Thyme and parsley ready to be cleaned and dried. The sage is hanging in the carshed, and my hands reek (in a good way) of sage.
Thyme and parsley ready to be cleaned and dried. The sage is hanging in the car shed, and my hands reek (in a good way) of sage.

Hopefully I will find time to get to them in the next couple of days so that will be the last of the garden items and everything is finally put away for the year. Oh what a great feeling and this makes me really thankful. Hope you have a great day!!

 

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

