Nov. 11, Thankfulness day in the house

Because today is Veteran’s Day in the USA, we had a bit of a holiday. South Dakota still has school and many of the schools use it as an opportunity to hold a program for the community to honor the area Veterans. In Herreid there is always a big to do, and sometimes they even dismiss classes after the event. The band plays, students sing and give readings and usually they have a speaker. I have to admit that I have not attended since Paulina left school here, but I know from others that it is usually a big deal.

North Dakota takes a different approach. They passed a state law some years ago that demands all state supported schools be closed in honor of the Veterans. What that means for us is James was home from school and we had many things planned for the day. I really, really wanted to clean out the closet and put up the bar on the south side, which means taking out some of the shelves and it would become just a clothes closet. Currently it is the clothes/linen/storage area. I am almost to the end of handling it because my clothes end up on a corner of a shelf and in storage totes from summer to winter and here with so many days that are half this and half that, I can’t ever find what I would like to wear. It is no wonder that I wear the same five outfits every week. So enough of all that, and for more of my comments on Veterans’ Day check out my old lucindalines site.

Creamy Knepfla Soup
Creamy Knepfla Soup
Vegetable Soup with bread sticks
Vegetable Soup with bread sticks

Here is what happened at our house today. First I am thankful that I was able to sleep late. Next because it was cold and rainy and dreary outside, I decided to make some soup. I made a pot of vegetable and of Knepfla. The vegetable is shown above with half and half in it. I always thought it was silly when I saw people eating it that way, but I pretty much prefer it that way now.

Chopped celery
Chopped celery
cut up knepfla
cut up knepfla

I started the Knepfla by chopping up all of the celery in the house. I boiled it to make a stock because I didn’t have any cream of celery soup which I use as a base. To make the knepfla which are just dough buttons, I put an egg or two with milk or half and half cream them flour. This is a very glutton filled meal. I usually shape the dough into a ball and snip it into boiling water to form the knepfla. Today I was in a hurry, so I rolled it and cut it with a pizza cutter. The picture at the top is the soup in the kettle. I add a generous amount of cream or milk to the broth, which can be flavored with chicken broth or chicken base. I also add carrots and potatoes to mine. It is a great cold day comfort food.

Of course I can never do just one thing, so I also made up a pot of vegetable soup. This is pretty much a vegetable dump. I start with a quart of whole tomatoes and add carrots, beets, potatoes and a little bit of rice. You should also add cabbage, but James is not a fan of the cabbage, so we leave it out. I also add beef base to this for flavor. Now tonight we will have a choice of soup and bread sticks for supper.

Now, not to be lazy about anything, since we weren’t getting to the closet, I decided it would be a good time to use up the pie crust in the freezer so it wouldn’t get old tasting. I made a pumpkin pie from frozen pumpkin, then because what I had was too much for the pie crust, I added creamed cheese to the left over and a little more of the thawed home-grown pumpkin, and made up another one to put into a graham cracker crust. I can’t wait to cut into them. I see from the picture that I didn’t blend the cream cheese in so well, but it is like leaving a few lumps in the mashed potatoes, that way you know it is from scratch.

Pumpkin pie
Pumpkin pie
pumpkin cream cheese pie
pumpkin cream cheese pie

I can’t decide which one I want to try first, but I am happy to have these made knowing that there are several pumpkins in the car shed waiting to be cut and cubed and boiled down into

Pie carrier
Pie carrier

pumpkin puree to make a few more pies. Yipee!! I also have to show you one of the best tools in the kitchen. It is the pie carrier. This is the best thing ever for putting pies into and taking them out of the oven. Check it out to the left.

So, this food is what I have been thankful for today. I am also happy that I will be able to pack up a quart of each soup and give it to Paulina tomorrow night when we see her at the volleyball tournament. I should check if Jessica wants me to send some of the pie for her. HAHA, Jess does not eat pie.

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

