Nov. 14, Thankfulness: Beautiful fall days

Today was another absolutely beautiful day outside. We spent the morning and early afternoon attending a funeral for a cousin of James. He was 79, but died quiet unexpectedly of a heart attack. I was thankful it was not someone in my church, so we could go and just be relative. James visited with cousins from far away, and I visited with some who are closer. I took the camera along to take some outdoor pictures on the way home, and when I began to snap, the “no memory card” notice popped up. Grrrr!! I seem to leave that in the computer more than not.

Spring Creek east of Herreid
Spring Creek east of Herreid

I have pictures of the creek and area around the house. I also was thankful for the weather because I was able to fix up the geraniums that I took from the church flower bed. They are tossed each year and I asked if I could try to keep them over winter. There are 8 of them, and I figure any that I save are more than were saved last year. Here is what our day looked/looks like.

James re-tilling the garden.
James re-tilling the garden.

The first time he tilled this year, he said the ground was too

Old barn close up
Old barn close up

hard and maybe if I put my weight on it then it would dig better. It was another of those GRRR moments.

I thought I had shots of the geraniums in the planter in church, but I think they are on a CD that I burned and not on this disc that I am using. Here is what I have at home to see about getting them to stay alive over the winter. Now the issue is where do I store them. I have enough. Maybe I will let the rotten ones die. Actually I should throw those and sterilize the pots. I think they might have plant lice. I know I won’t let them stand side by side for now.

Box of geraniums brought home.
Box of geraniums brought home.
Planted into pots and watered.
Planted into pots and watered.

So, what are you thankful for today?? Stop by and leave a comment about it. Tomorrow will be the halfway point of the month. Do we have enough reasons left to be thankful???

2 thoughts on “Nov. 14, Thankfulness: Beautiful fall days

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

