Nov. 21, Thankfulness: Extra hands

As usual I forgot to take pictures along the way. Today I am thankful for extra hands in the kitchen. James, Paulina and I were able to reduce the boxes of zucchini setting around and taking up space to A single box today.

Two boxes of zucchini
Two boxes of zucchini

I had hoped we would do all of them, but it just wasn’t possible. We think that we went through something like 20-25 zucchini. After one box, we all had enough and there were other things to do.

17 bags of shredded zucchini (2cups each)
17 bags of shredded zucchini (2cups each)

My hands were tired of peeling since I had already peeled a large bowl of potatoes for the meal after church tomorrow. Paulina had also done considerable work preparing the carrots for the roast. We had originally thought of making a chocolate zucchini cake, but I know that no one ever eats cake because the ladies always have all sorts of really yummy deserts. Our sad looking cake would not look very good in that mix. I will grab some pickled items to dress up the table. Pickled beets, beans and green tomatoes should work well in the relish department. I would love to do a cheese and cracker tray as you find on Pinterest in the shape of a turkey, but  that will just have to wait for another year. In the meantime, I will finish up the liturgy for the service and call it good. Oh wait, I still have some potatoes to peel to make the hash browns for supper, oh…..

Dehydrator in action.
Dehydrator in action.
Tray full of zucchini
Tray full of zucchini

And, if you are wondering as I did initially, how it takes over 20 zucchini to make 17 bags? Well, the reason is that we decided to fill the dehydrator with slices of zucchini. I am thinking that rehydrated, they might be of use in a vegetable medley down the road. We will try anything once. Paulina though maybe we could sprinkle them with sugar and cinnamon and eat as dried apples. Hmmm, maybe not, but what about using them in a zucchini cobbler? If I do, I promise to let you know the results. Take care and Happy Fall!!

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

