Nov. 24, Thankfulness: Our mother’s house

Today I am thankful for the house that was my mother’s. By the way, my sister, Adie checked, and it was built in 1901. I have written about this in past posts, including: The Olsen House, which was posted here: (https://lucindalines.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/the-olson-house/) I am not sure on the link thing, and please don’t try to help, I just can’t get it. If you want to read the original, copy and paste the stuff between the () and go there. Thanks.

When I was on the phone with my aunt, who thinks she needs to spend all this time in Arizona, the thermometer on the bank read 42 degrees F. The wind is blustery, and has a little bite, but we are in a weather pattern that is warmer than normal and much drier than we need it. But for now we will smile and enjoy the sunshine. Below are pictures of the inside of the house. We are finishing some laundry there and so have been back and forth most of the day. In the morning we were at the local Community Center helping out with the Mobil Food Pantry that comes to town monthly. I sure hope that those doing the loop were able to get what they need for a nice meal on Thursday.

I had a weird dream about my father last night. He was the one who never wanted a house full of company at a holiday. He was the one who made himself scrambled eggs or noodles and bread crusts and ate alone. But all he could say last night in my dream was, “Let’s just sit down and have a nice meal.” It was really strange. Just saying… Here are the pictures.

Entry way.
Entry way.
Living room
Living room

The entry way is what we always called the “Back” door. Now it is the main entrance. There used to be a wrap around porch outside that door.

The kitchen
The kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom

The living room is to the left of the entry way, and that picture is my mother’s Sr. picture. I am looking south in the entry way picture and looking the other direction for the living room. The place where the television sits used to be a doorway to the bedroom, but my mother closed that to gain some privacy. The kitchen is to the north of the entry way and right outside the bedroom shown above. This is the bedroom on the other side of the living room. If you look closely, my parents’ wedding picture is in the mirror of the bedroom dresser. Below are a couple of shots from upstairs.

The south bedroom. This was mine, and was blue when I lived there.
The south bedroom. This was mine, and was blue when I lived there.
Door to hallway.
Door to hallway.

The doorways and windows are in perfect line which made for very efficient air movement in the heat of the summer.

One day I saw a flash of lightning go through the house from the south to north windows. I jumped back!!

Bathroom upstairs
Bathroom upstairs

The tub to the left is the original in the house. This bathroom was not real functional when we moved in, but it didn’t take long to have it running. This past year we had a few issues, but with a dropped ceiling below, we are able to make fixes as needed. My only disappointment is not having saved the sink that matches the tub. We have the original sink in the old bathroom at my house. It isn’t always easy to use, but it is there. My children say, “Tear out that tub and put in a shower.” I tell them I will haunt them if they do. I guess. Well this is it for today. I am excited to share my thankfulness with you thus far, and hope you have things you are thankful for too. Have a great Thanksgiving!! Count down to Turkey Day 2.

One thought on “Nov. 24, Thankfulness: Our mother’s house

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

