Countdown to Christmas, More snow

Naturally flocked trees
Naturally flocked trees
Antique digger holding projector, spinner in foreground.
Antique digger holding projector, spinner in foreground.

I am posting these pictures mostly for my aunt to become depressed. Perhaps she will change her ticket and stay in Phoenix. Ha!! It is not that we don’t want you around, it is just that you need to see what is going on here the past two days. For now the snow is falling and piling up. They tell us that in a few hours it will be picked up by an icy blast of wind and fly around in the air over night. Translated that means, “Get yourself into a warm building and stay put for the night.”

Sophia outside on a day with less snow.
Sophia outside on a day with less snow.
Roger before the sore. This cheek now has a gaping hole, but is healing.
Roger before the sore. This cheek now has a gaping hole, but is healing.

Oh my, I have a cat outside, Sophia. Time out while I go and fetch her in. Well, she is back inside eating. We took her and Roger to the vet a couple of days ago. Sophia needed a check to see about her itching. they gave her a shot for some bacteria in the ears and we have drops to put in once a day. Roger was a bit worse off. I won’t show a picture of her injury because she is a rather proud cat and frankly, it is gross. She was bitten in two spots on the side of her cheek. The first time it festered and popped, I took care of it, but didn’t squeeze hard enough to get it all out, and she really needed an antibiotic. She received a shot and took it well, I have to put salve on her twice a day and give her medicine. She doesn’t like either of those, but she is willing to lay by me again, so I can tell she is feeling better.

My typical shop picture to show the snow totals.
My typical shop picture to show the snow totals.
My bedroom window. This gives you an idea that it is still snowing. I should have turned the tree on before I took this.
My bedroom window. This gives you an idea that it is still snowing. I should have turned the tree on before I took this.

Back to the snow pictures. This storm came through both Dakotas. The best picture was taking a ruler and drawing a line from Rapid City, SD (Black Hills for those out of the area) all the way to Jamestown, ND (home of two of my daughters and the World’s Largest Buffalo). By the way, we are the mid-point of that line. The snow forecast for this wide area is/was/continues to be anywhere from 2-4, 3-5, 4-6 and upwards. I think we have blown right past the four and hit the six, but what do I know. English/Reading teachers turned preachers know nothing about measurements. At least my husband never believed a word of me checking the rain gauge last summer. I will just say let the pictures speak for themselves.

At the least, we really need the moisture around here. Although, when we are dried out, it often only takes a couple of good rains to bring it back. Still, it is better around here to have the ground covered will snow than standing open. Trees, shrubs, all dormant bulbs, winter wheat, are all better if covered with a blanket. Open winters are devastating for things that are perennial. Yes, as someone commented the other day, I will ever have the mind of a farmer. Around here the economy is driven by the farms and no matter how much people try to think it isn’t, they are wrong…bankrupt wrong.

Well, I don’t have much else to say today. I am looking forward to Christmas more than anyone knows. In fact my best top super gift of all is the one I asked for of my husband, but I will wait until the whole hubbub is over. He said I get to upgrade my original blog site to a business site. I will be redirecting everything from here to there by the first of the year. Hurrah, back to my one blog area. I am excited about doing some fun things there when I make that switch. And, it isn’t that he dictates, but I feel any purchase is something we talk about together. It makes for a few less disagreements down the line. Hey, Merry Christmas to anyone who might not stop by again this year. I hope to be posting more, but one never knows what snow bank might sneak up on one. I am home from the “office” and my day at the Health Care Center because of the snow, so you never know.

4 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas, More snow

  1. It looks so cold, but it was in the low 30s here this morning! Not real warm for Arizona. Looking forward to shoveling snow… Just kidding! See you all soon and thanks for the pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

