Christmas gifts I made

I have always had a hard time giving Christmas gifts without putting some actual time into them. I don’t know if it was from reading the Laura Ingalls Wilder books so many times, or if I am just of the do it yourself mindset, but just going out and purchasing gifts to give, for me has always felt so commercialized and cold. I know there are members of my family who would love it if I were more commercialized, but as Adie says, “It is what it is.”

Crewel Christmas scene
Crewel Christmas scene

My first show off will be the item that has been finished but not framed for the past three years. I have had it in a box ready to wrap and finally figured out how to frame it this year. Here is the crewel that I gave to my daughter Jessica. I love this scene and wish I had it at my house (the actual fireplace and chair, not the picture). The kitty is supposed to be Peaches, a cat we had when we moved to Herreid, but he got sick and none of the vets in the area could figure out what it was. We were sad to lose him, but nothing could be done.

This kit came from a company that I used to work for. It was Creative Circle and was one of those companies where you hold parties in someone’s home, and they earn points and you recruit people to work under you and on and on. I spent more than I made money doing that and still have several kits to finish from that life. I hope to have them finished before the girls have to clean out our house. At one point I was giving kits as Christmas and birthday gifts. I did learn some things about that sort of stitching at the time, so it wasn’t a total waste.

These are a couple of my accomplishments of which I actually took pictures. The bags for two little girls:  This version was an upgrade as I added a pocket to the inside with a hook and loop closure.

getting ready to sew in the string.
getting ready to sew in the string.
Finished purple sling bag.
Finished purple sling bag.

The other one was of a white material with small stripes in it. I made one like it for myself this summer and you can find all directions on my other site: lucindacrafts under the post of: Homemade sling bags. How original. It was published back in Aug. 2015. So this was the easiest of all the sewing I did, though I wouldn’t have done any except for my sister Kathy. My machine needs its bobbin area rearranged and I can’t figure out what I am doing wrong as I put it back together. Somehow I am jamming up the feed dogs and it won’t move the material forward or backward. Everyone says get a new machine, but when I look at the new machines and feel the plastic set up, I just want my heavy steel machine to work again. I don’t need anything fancy just forward, backward and a few zigzags.

Anyway, with my sister’s machine, I finished up the item that I had cut and set up for Victoria to store all of her crochet hooks and a few needles for finishing off projects. She might read this, but I gave this to her so she isn’t always wondering where her items are and so the little girl doesn’t decide to get into something that she doesn’t need to do at 15 months even though she is into everything else.

I have several pictures to show here on how I did this. I got the idea from a wordpress blogger: grannymaudsgirl, which I follow on the lucindacrafts site. It was her post Binder Kits. Anyway, this is my version of how to do this.

Finished bag. You can get the size from the cutting board.
Finished bag. You can get the size from the cutting board.
Inside of kit.
Inside of kit.

I did not quilt this or bind it. Instead I sewed up two pieces back to back and turned it, so the next pictures will show the beginning of how this was all put together and I hope it makes sense.

The beginning
The beginning
The set up
The set up

I started by ironing some interfacing to the outside piece. Next I moved to the inside piece and put all the parts on it as I wanted them to be placed. A zippered bag for the crochet hooks, pin cushions for needles or pins. And two pockets a long and a short one for whatever.

Padding
Padding

Instead of quilting padding, I used a couple of pieces of fleece scraps for the padding under the little felt pieces. The great thing about this bag was that I was able to use items I had bought long ago and if I do a few more of these, I will clean out stored items and convert them to something useful. My sisters looked at these and said they would not want a sewing bag, but if I could figure out something for jewelry, they would like it. I don’t know if I have the mindset for jewelry at this time, but if I stew on it a bit perhaps. Anyway, if I can get my machine fixed, this is for sure something I will do again in the future. In the meantime, I may just have to stick to some of the knitting and crocheting and maybe even a crewel item or two. Hope this made sense to all of you crafters out there.

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

