Indoor plants

Aloe and cactus together
Aloe and cactus together

Since I have revived my lucindalines site for my main postings, I will try to limit this site to gardening posts. I will start today with a look at a few of the indoor plants and how they are fairing this winter. The aloe vera and Christmas cactus are almost overwhelming in how they have been responding to the light. I think they have been more that happy with the white on white of the sky the past few weeks. We have had lots of fog and overcast days, and they are just inside a south bow window and so they get lots of light, but no heated sunlight that would bleach or harm them. Both plants are outgrowing their pots and yet, I am afraid to move them because I don’t want to damage them. The aloe is so large that it might take two or three of us to hold it so that it doesn’t tip and break. On the other hand, I should take some of the larger leaves off and mash them up to use, but I am not quite sure how to preserve them. If anyone has any suggestions, please share.

Cactus in bloom
Cactus in bloom
Aloe in a crock.
Aloe in a crock.

The aloe really isn’t planted in the crock, I just set it in the crock because the pot it is in was starting to leak and I expected it to tip over. My house doesn’t have enough windows for all of these plants, yet I don’t have the ability to throw any of them out. I guess someday they will be gone, though it seems everything I have at this time creates its own off spring and I can’t help but replant all of them. Oh that is the other thing, the aloe has about five or six little plants growing alongside it in its pot. Yikes where to turn next? I guess I will be making more of what you see below.

More baby plants
More baby plants
Second year baby cactus.
Second year baby cactus.

So that is all for today. Hope you have enjoyed the indoor flower garden tour. I am looking forward to spring when I can set most of these outside and even give away a few of these young plants. Perhaps Mother’s Day in church will be a good time to unload a few more. I always enjoy those days. Perhaps this time I will add the candles to the table and between the two items the members will each get an item, and I will have a few less things hanging out at my place. I can only hope!!

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

