Frozen pumpkin

Frozen pumpkin
Frozen pumpkin

I should have a recipe or something to show how I use this, but just dropping off a hint of how to preserve the pumpkins that are so prolific in our gardens. Fortunately pumpkin is really a squash which keeps fairly well in a cool dry area. We have 11 left from last fall, and most of them are in the basement waiting patiently for me to cut them up and use them in some way. I took four of the smallest ones last week and cleaned, peeled and boiled them down. I know it is work, but I really appreciate knowing from where my food comes and how it is prepared.

Muffin tins, one flipped, one covered with foil.
Muffin tins, one flipped, one covered with foil.
I had to heat this one to get the foil off.
I had to heat this one to get the foil off.

My sister has baked them with shells on in order to get at the pulp in the inside, but I am so squeamish with everything that I have to be able to peel then wash then boil whatever squash I am dealing with. So, in order to freeze it, since I found out it is difficult to can pumpkin and keep it from spoiling, I use my muffin tins. Each one holds about 1/2 cup if you want to know a measure. I cover them with tinfoil then freeze. In a day or so, I can take them from the freezer, pop the frozen pumpkin out of the tin and put them in freezer bags. It makes for a very easy measurement when I use them later.

2 thoughts on “Frozen pumpkin

    1. Thanks, I will take that, though sometimes it just falls in place. I keep a set of sharpies by my sink in an unused planter to mark my jars when canning. One day they just jumped at me when the eggs were cooling. Have a great day!

      Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

