April Fool from nature: Sunrise April 1

The view to the west.
The view to the west.

Today was the first of April and we knew it was predicted, but I almost couldn’t believe my eyes when I looked out the window this morning. This is how we were greeted.

To the east, the garden was covered with snow.
To the east, the garden was covered with snow.

As you can see, we had the table in place for summer relaxation. The solar lights are all in a row and the terracotta pots are setting out waiting for something to be planted in them. So much for spring! And the best part of the picture to the right is that I was trying to get a shot of the sunrise this morning. The sun didn’t appear from behind the clouds until around 10 am. By the time we got home from track practice around 6 p.m. there were only trace amounts of snow left. That is by far the best part of April snow, it is usually gone pretty fast.

Raindrops on the clothes line.
Raindrops on the clothes line.

This would have been a perfect time to have thrown down some grass seed. The moisture and the nitrogen from a rain/snow would have given it a great start. Oh well, fortunately we didn’t need to seed any grass. I realize that I haven’t posted for quite some time and I am not sure that I will be back much before May 1. I am in the middle of a class for church and have to fill out my license renewal as soon as that is finished and my deadline for each is around the 15th of April, which is also about the time the track meets will start, so my stress level is pretty high. In the meantime, Happy Spring to all of you and catch you when I get caught up. Oh, one more picture, of the rain/snow of two days ago.

2 thoughts on “April Fool from nature: Sunrise April 1

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

