Bone dry and hungry

Tomatoes are on the vine.
Tomatoes are on the vine.

It occurred to me the other day that it has been quite some time since I put any fertilizer on my garden. As in, I don’t think I did any last year and the year before is a blur. I want to empty the compost container into the garden this fall, but that will not help this crop. I have used tomato spikes in the past, and even tried Epsom salt in the peppers once upon a time, but the last few years, we have been letting the plants take from the soil and have not been doing much to put anything back. This is also the second year that we have allowed sunflowers in the vegetable garden, and according to my husband, that is one of the hardest plants on your soil that you can grow. So, I have not been a very good steward.

Grass on the walk between the tomatoes.
Grass on the walk between the tomatoes.

We do always put grass clippings between the rows of plants, but I am not really sure how much that adds to the soil. We also dumped a pile of decomposed compost in the northwest corner last year and had the best zucchini ever, but that spot is empty this year, so no benefit from that at this time. It might be a good idea to do a soil sample and see what is lacking, but I am just not quite that scientific. Really what the garden needed most was a year off, but each spring it is the same thing. I see the seeds in the stores and look at the containers in the garage, and I get that bug to dig in the dirt. So out comes the tiller and the fences go up and the hoe makes a row here and a row there and the seeds drop into the soil and we are off to another year of tending and picking and enjoying the bounty. Though I am not so sure there will be much bounty this year with the recent lack of rain and the inability of some gardeners to get their bunions off the couch.

Fertilizer ready to apply
Fertilizer ready to apply

So, the shorter version of the story today is that I got out the fertilizer and filled up the plastic container that hooks onto the hose. Next I walked through the garden and very specifically filled each of the cans that surround the tomatoes and the peppers, then I spot watered the cucumbers, peas, zucchini, carrots, beans, beets, zinnias and cosmos.

Powder dry soil
Powder dry soil

James plans to soak the entire garden again tomorrow morning if it doesn’t rain tonight, and chances of that happening look very slim. It is so dry here the ground is like powder. I guess it is about our turn for some drought, but you sure hate to see that when so many depend on the rain for their livelihood.

3 thoughts on “Bone dry and hungry

  1. I try to feed the gardens once every couple of weeks, but so far it’s been more like once a month. I’m sure our soil is poor at this point, but hopefully we can get some compost or something this fall and let it work some magic over the winter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are probably fine. I just know that I have gone so long without doing anything. This year, I just grabbed a package of Miracle Grow. We will see if it makes a difference. Thanks for stopping by to visit.

      Like

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

