Neglected gardens

Rose plant on the right.
Rose plant on the right.

I keep promising my sister Adrienne (she does the mowing here) that I will take care of the rose at my mother’s house, which I planted about 6 or so years ago. It grows each year, but earlier died down below the graft and so no roses anymore. I don’t know why I leave it in the ground. I suppose it is because it was the last Mother’s Day gift that I gave to my mother, and killing it off would feel like I didn’t care or that she isn’t/wasn’t worth anything to me anymore. In the meantime, I promise to clean it, but instead there are things like laundry to wash and dry and fold, and sermons to write and present and houses to clean (though certainly not my own) and campsites to upgrade or bills to pay, and the list goes on until it stops at hosting parties where you act like you hope everyone goes home soon. I am not sure where my days go. I don’t even watch soaps anymore.

Flower garden behind the house
Flower garden behind the house

As I walk around the rest of my mother’s yard, I can tell you what my days are not doing, things like weeding the back flower garden, or trimming up the bush to the northeast side of the house. I don’t want to clip this bush, which is sort of over growing its space, but it might be a good idea to get the elm tree out of the mix, and the stack of shingles buried near the steps has to be in the garbage this Friday. Speaking of garbage,

Bush on the NE side.
Bush on the NE side.

I did upgrade the dumpster at the campsite. It was emptied on Friday and full by Saturday. Good grief we have a mini-community living there. It has been a challenge, but it has also been fun getting to know new people from a whole new part of the country. Hopefully they will go home knowing that up here in South Dakota we do have running water and electricity and there is NOT snow on the ground 365 days of the year. Apparently there are people in the country who are still unclear about all of that. They asked my niece or sister if we have cars here or if we have to travel in buggies. This sounds like a reason to have to pass a test to be on the grid. Sorry, I couldn’t help that comment.

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

