Some garden progress

Raspberries should be ripe soon.
Raspberries should be ripe soon.

We are having cloudy skies and lots of wind today. It also feels very much like rain is right around the corner. The air is heavy and damp. My thing today was to go out and check on the garden. We finally have raspberries that look like there might be something of a crop, not to preserve any, but at least to enjoy them for a change. After the failure of the plums this year, the raspberries are looking better and better as an alternative crop in the future. James and Paulina checked with Jim K a retired extension agent still living in the area. He said that generally speaking all of the plums in our area were lost this year to an insect infestation that came about because of our high humidity right after or as the trees blossomed. There is a spray for it, but only helps if you do it immediately as they bloom. I won’t miss that opportunity next year to be sure. This is the second year without a plum jelly crop, hopefully we can prevent a third.

Bell pepper beside paring knife to show the size
Bell pepper beside paring knife to show the size

I also found one medium-sized pepper. I would have left it on the plant if it had been a lone pepper. There are three other smaller ones on the same plant, so I picked the largest one to give the nutrition to the smaller ones. I also found a small handful of peas on the seven plants that survived germination. I will be purchasing new seeds next year. I believe the packet I have has completed its possibilities of growing anything.

Tomato plant has fruit!
Tomato plant has fruit!

A few other gardening pictures include the tomatoes which are holding lots of fruit, but nothing has begun turning red. I suspect that if we have the heat that is predicted for the week, I will have at least a few of the cherry tomatoes to eat with salads. Speaking of salad, I should finish up and go pick the lettuce growing in the pot I showed last night with the herb garden post. I shoved all of the pots under the shorter porch earlier today to get them away from the wind that is ripping at everything. I am thinking that was partly why I didn’t fill those pots quite so full.

Purple beans in bloom
Purple beans in bloom

I also have a picture of the purple beans in bloom. I can’t wait to pick those, and you heard it here, I will not complain if I have to sit in the sun for several hours to pick all of the produce from them. Yes! I really mean that. I have been salivating waiting for fresh beans this year. It seems that the past couple of years we have put those plants in such odd places that they were not accessible, well that is not the case this year. I also planted three rows of zinnias right beside them so that they will have the greatest attraction possible in terms of pollinators. Hopefully it all helps. I have to share a story about a purple vegetable. One of the campers staying in our KALM Campsite mentioned that the thing she misses most while on the road with her husband, and since her mother passed away, was the family gathering they had back in Louisiana at her mother’s house when the purple hulled peas are ready to process. She said they would pick and hull humongous amounts of them, then blanch them outside over an open fire then put them in jars for preserving. What a great story that is, and what a wonderful family memory. I sure will miss this group of campers as they move on with the pipeline.

Oh, I forgot the cucumber…check out the lucindalines site for that picture and for an update on the house work. In the meantime, Happy Gardening to you!!

 

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

