Harvest: Friday, Aug. 12

Bounty of today!!
Bounty of today!!

The garden is still fairly wet from the rains of the past week, but the beans needed picking, so I braved the mud and filled a couple of buckets. I did not pick all that is out there, but I did as much as my back and leg would allow for today. I should take a trip  to visit the chiropractor, but I am putting it off for another week. Probably not a good idea, but my couch and the Olympics are a bit more appealing at this time. In the meantime, I need to wash both pair of athletic shoes after this last bit of picking.

Fresh potatoes.
Fresh potatoes.

James also dug some potatoes. He said he started with the plants from the non-seed potatoes that were bad in the cupboard last spring. He is hoping that this is the lowest of the yields this year. I washed up the smallest ones and we had them tonight in a stew with some carrots. We also were treated to some sweet corn that my sister Adie gave to Paulina last night. It was really good. The first corn on the cob of the season is always the best. I have cleaned those beans, but am thinking that I will need to break down and do a batch of pickled beans and some tomato soup tomorrow.

Beans and zinnias in the garden
Beans and zinnias in the garden

The thought of all that work isn’t so appealing at this moment. No wonder I am saving it for tomorrow. I just don’t have the energy for doing some of that this year, not sure what the problem is. I think it might have something to do with staying up until 2 am to watch the Olympics then getting up again before 8 a.m. to see the next round. Fortunately it won’t be for long and I guess that is why I get sort of crazy about watching it all. One more picture on the side gives you an idea of the mud in the garden around the beans and the zinnias. James worked so hard on Tuesday to water and fertilize, then it stormed majorly on Tuesday night and rained again on Wednesday. With the heat of the past few days on top of those rains, I am hoping we end up with a major boost in the harvest. This said by the one who just complained about being tired. HA!! Happy Gardening to all of you and best wishes on a great harvest.

2 thoughts on “Harvest: Friday, Aug. 12

Hi: I would love to hear your comment on this post.

